using dpns — joining in the round, psso

23 Feb

This is the third in a series of comments on how to use double-pointed needles. If you’ve looked at the patterns in the Loumms Year of Socks, you’ll see we are huge fans of DPNs. But we know that if you’re new to them, trying to work out how to get from a bunch of sticks to knitting smoothly in the round can be a bit of a puzzle.

Joining in the round is when you go from having all your stitches on your cast-on needle to being able to work them in the round so you can make a tube. That is, you cast on all your stitches onto one needle and you join in the round after you’ve divided up your stitches over your DPNs (evenly) over your needles.

dsc00236

**Note: If the pattern calls for 4 needles, this means that your stitches will be held on a minimum of 3 needles while you knit with a fourth. If the pattern calls for 5 needles, your stitches will be held on a minimum of 4 needles while you knit with the fifth.

dsc002471

Shape the needles into a triangle or square. There will be one corner that is open. To complete the triangle or square, you have to close this corner and there are a bunch of ways you can do this, but below is one of my favourites.

First, make sure that your working yarn (not the tail) is on the left-hand needle (which places the tail on the right-hand needle) and that it is held to the back and above the needles, while the tail falls down and to the front.

dsc00248

Slip the last stitch from the RH needle onto the tip of the LH needle.

dsc00255

Slip what was the first stitch from the LH needle over this stitch and onto the RH needle.

dsc00251

Pull both the tail and the working yarn tight, so that the join is snug.

dsc00254

Et voila! You’ve joined in the round.

In the next post I’ll show you another way to join in the round and from there give tips on actually knitting in the round once you’re all joined up.

4 Responses to “using dpns — joining in the round, psso”

  1. Kristen 3 March 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    Good heavens! I’ve been doing it wrong all this time! And I don’t just mean I was using a different method – I was doing it wrong. I made up a join that technically works, but is not nearly so neat or effective. Thank you!

  2. Denise 25 May 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    Very interesting. I also joined in the round differently. This is my first time using DPNs so I didn’t know there were different ways to d this. I’m contemplating frogging what I’ve done so far, and joining in the round the way you showed here. Hmm…we’ll see, I’ve gotta examine my work to see if the join is as snug as yours in your pics. Thanks!

  3. Emily 24 June 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    So, I found this on Ravelry in a thread that someone was asking about joining in the round. I’m senior this year and in band I’m one of the section leaders and my friend, who is the other senior and section leader, and I decided to work together and make gloves for everyone in the section. This is/was not my first project on DPNs, but every time I’ve worked with DPNs I’ve tried another way of joining in the round and continue to have trouble remembering how I’ve done it before and how I’ve figured is best. I never thought of this before and now that I’ve done it, it seems so simple! Thank you for posting this, it’s very useful!

  4. AD 25 May 2013 at 6:55 am #

    just tried this method. Very easy peasy. thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

