raspberry ripple — lyos july 2009

6 Jul

3680642529_bdf5d291ca

Pattern: Raspberry Ripple, by loutheperson knits

Yarn: Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock ((80% super wash wool, 20% nylon, 215 yds/50 g) x 2

Needles: 2.25 mm

Nothing says summer to me like the tart creamy sweetness of raspberry ripple ice cream. Especially when it’s full of huge fresh juicy berries. Yum! There’s something about that contrast that is as refreshing as it is tasty.

While I was designing ‘Raspberry Ripple’, I sought to emulate the way the creamy vanilla and just-sweet raspberry complement each other. It had to be simple and straightforward, with a tang of something saucy to keep things interesting. What I came up with was a delicate balance of rippling lace, streams of wrapped cables and a solid, reliable plain rib. Delicious!

‘Raspberry Ripple’ is the thirteenth pattern to be released under the Loumms Year of Socks. It is available for purchase on Ravelry and will be soon available on Etsy.

Please note, we are re-releasing all our Loumms Year of Socks designs as paid-for patterns. As well as re-tech-editing each pattern, we will be reformatting each pattern and offering tips, hints and clever ideas to make knitting these socks better than ever!

5 Responses to “raspberry ripple — lyos july 2009”

  1. Jackie 7 July 2009 at 12:34 am #

    I really like the look of this sock, unfortunately the pattern link isn’t working.

  2. risiko 7 July 2009 at 5:50 am #

    help! the pattern will not download for me. it says file not found.

  3. loumms 7 July 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Thanks for letting us know! It should be fine now!!

  4. Lynnette 16 July 2009 at 3:29 am #

    Link still does not work

  5. Amanda 20 July 2009 at 8:07 am #

    Cute socks!! I saved the pattern and will try them later when I get better at knitting. So far I can do the knit and purl stitches and can only do them well when I don’t do them in the same row. So I have a bit of a ways to go. Plus I don’t have a clue how to read graphs yet but once I figure it all out I’ll make these socks. Thanks for posting!! And link worked fine for me by the way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

