swallowtail joy

25 Nov

As much as I love designing and knitting up my own garments there is nothing so enjoyable as following a pattern designed by someone else. The Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn A Clark is one of those beautiful patterns that is so genius you end up wishing you were clever enough to have designed it yourself. The budding lace repeat is interesting enough to keep you focused but at the same time it’s one of those relaxing knits that, once you’ve got it going, feels like it is part of you.

It is such a popular pattern as most people already have at least one to their name! I can’t believe it has taken me so long to cast this on! I am so behind the times!

At the moment I am on the final two rounds of the lily of the valley border, which I had been very excited about starting as I couldn’t wait to see the nupps appearing, and it was worth the wait as they complement the texture of the budding lace so well.

swallowtail-003

I ended up doing 12 repeats of the pattern after finding out that doing 11 wouldn’t work mathematically but it seems already that it will block out a dream.  I wish I could have done the whole 14 repeats but even now I am scared I am going to run out of yarn before the end!

I am also madly in love with the yarn. It is Handmaidens Camel Spin in Nova Scoti,a which I bought from Purlescence at the Knitting and Stitching Show this year. It needed a good project what with the price it cost and the shawl seemed perfect. The colourway is really coming out and is now resembling a peacocks feathers which I love!

Anyway the urge to design is still there so yesterday me and emmms cast on the ‘loumms year of socks’ sock for December!!!! It’s the first proper sock designing venture we have gone on together and we thankfully both have the same dreams!

Leave a Reply

