toys gone by

29 Nov

dsc00246

This is why I ought to start sewing. It’s part of an exhibit that was on in Spitalfields, celebrating the lives and experiences of immigrant families who have populated the area over the past several centuries. If I remember correctly, this toy was owned by a very small Jewish Russian immigrant, who’s grandmother gave it to him when the family left for England, to remember the old country and the family he was leaving behind. His grandchildren donated it to the exhibit.

I’d love for my children’s children, many years after I’m dead and gone, to give a small hand-stuffed toy to their children and tell them it was me who made it.

Leave a Reply

