vogue winter 2009 preview

17 Jan

I love Vogue Knitting. I have a small feeling I bang on about how much I adore VK’s delightful near-unwearability and revel in its borderline-psychotic artfulness every time a new issue comes out. Lest anyone think I’m being sarcastic or dismissive, well, you can stop that right now. VK straddles the batshit crazy/high fashion interest line perfectly and always comes as such a relief to the staid offerings from most other knitting magazines.

This issue is no exception. I’m already scrutinising my stash for yarn that would work for the cropped cabled hoodie, bottom right.

vogue-crooped-hoodie

The delicate balance struck between the simple cables, fairy-tale-esque sculpted hood and large dome-shaped buttons is wonderful and quite what my wardrobe needs more of.

I’m also intrigued by the scooped hem of the top left cardigan. In my imagination it gently skims the top of the leg, giving an illusion of curves; I’m keen to get my hands on the pattern to see if I’m right.

I don’t usually go for Twinkle — big yarn rarely flatters anyone unless it’s been knit into scarves or hats — but I think the cardigan in the middle is perfect for the wintry chill that’s decended on London.

twinkle-big-knit-cardie

It looks like the sort of cardi/coat you could wear well into the early summer in the evening.

Lastly, I adore the opera gloves in this next spread, top left. The billowing lines look like Russian Christmas baubles, and the long arms that disappear up into the model’s coat are delicious.

perfect-armwarmers

Pattern potential aside, I think my favourite picture is the one top centre. I don’t care much for the socks, but man is she ever working them. ANTM would approve.

ETA: Just came across this link for the new UK knitting mag, The Knitter. Very interesting! Actually looks like a real magazine rather than something cobbled together by an eighth-form business studies class. I’m intrigued to see it in person.

5 Responses to “vogue winter 2009 preview”

  1. Hinke 17 January 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    Wow, I really really like the chunky knits a lot, and the way they’re photographed, with the huge balls of wool. Guess they’re not really wearable as well – at least not for me – but they look great anyway.

    And, thank you for your Caliente slock pattern, i love it!

  2. heideho 17 January 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    Somebody generously gifted me some Vogue magazines. The designers there do seem to feel a draw to very large buttons and wide collars.

    The lovely package you sent to me for winning your contest arrived. Thank you so very much. Everything is/was lovely (the chocolate didn’t survive its first hour). Thank you again!

  3. Sharon 18 January 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    They have The Knitter in WH Smiths. It was so nice to see a knitting magazine you could thumb through rather than trying to read a preview hidden behind some useless FREE GIFT and wrapped in cellophane. Saying that, I didn’t buy it. But I haven’t stopped thinking about it…

  4. Alison 19 January 2009 at 10:34 am #

    I bought |”The Knitter” because it was cheaper than buying a Louisa Harding pattern book for the one sweater my daughter liked. A bonus was that I liked the Teva Durham jacket and it is hard to find her work over here. There is a lot of nice stuff in it, although if you have a stash of recent books/patterns there is duplication eg Rowan 42 and Weardowney.

    The articles and interviews are a bit bog standard eg Amanda Crawford commented on the variety of stitches used in vintage patterns but no one joined the dots up and said knitting was a skill learned much younger and much more thoroughly in the recent past.

    The knitting is not that adventurous IMHO although there is a nice variety of projects. Style-wise nothing pushes the boat out and there is a singularly unfortunate lace coat designed by Martin Storey with strategically misplaced lace panels at hip, waist and bust levels – I dread to think what that would look like on.

    Rowan 45 had 50 or so patterns. Rowan Studio 14 was much more stylish. Vogue Knitting is still a much better option all round.

    I don’t think I will buy no 2.

  5. brokeknits 19 January 2009 at 11:52 am #

    I’m practical to a fault when it comes to clothing, and by extension, the knitting of garments. Thanks for reminding me that the lunacy can be fun, too.

Leave a Reply

