malabrigo malady

24 Jan

I’m seeking a concensus here. What people think of Malabrigo sock yarn? Has anyone else found problems in the skeins? Three out of three of the skeins I’ve caked up have had breaks in them.

The first two were divided at almost exactly in half with 50 grams in each cake, which was surprisingly convenient because the yarn was going to be used for socks anyway. I wasn’t expecting it, but actually it turned out fine.

dsc00265

The third one, not so much.

dsc00263

As it turns out, this isn’t a huge tragedy because this little cake is for a bit of colourwork, so I wasn’t going to use that much of the whole cake anyway. But the rest is going towards a cardigan.

dsc002231

If this keeps up with the other three skeins, I’m in for way more ends to weave in than I bargained for.

9 Responses to “malabrigo malady”

  1. MelJay 24 January 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    I’ve heard (but not experienced) that Malabrigo purposefully put a knot halfway through each skein, so that you know when you’re halfway though and don’t run out of yarn on the second sock.
    The third skein might not be the norm.

  2. ambermoggie 24 January 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    yes I had this happen, there were 4 breaks in my skein so I won’t be buying any more

  3. Laura 24 January 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    I’ve experienced the same thing – roughly 60% of the skeins I’ve worked with had at least 1 break.

  4. orata 24 January 2009 at 6:17 pm #

    I was going to say the same thing as MelJay: as an experiment, Malabrigo put a knot halfway through some batches of their Sock to designate the 50g mark. So I wouldn’t be concerned about the first two, or one of the knots in the third. The other knot in the third cake does seem like a quality control issue.

  5. Sharon 24 January 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Isn’t malabrigo merino? You could always spit-splice it easily without having to weave the ends in.

  6. brokeknits 24 January 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    That’s disappointing. I’ve not noticed the breaking thing, but I haven’t used the yarn all that much. I’d go for spit-splicing … the colors are so pretty!

  7. Emilie 25 January 2009 at 1:18 am #

    Certain Malabrigo Sock Yarn colourways come packed with these little notes saying that the skein has been divided in half in order to make it easier to knit socks from. It’s apparently a test to see what consumers think of it.

    If you don’t like it you should probably drop them a line…I think that’s what they want.

    You should ask Alice because she’ll probably know more. I know when I was on her stall at Ally Pally we put one of the little notes onto the ‘cage’ of Malabrigo so customers would know that some of the colourways were knotted.

    HOWEVER, that should only be 1 knot half way through…not 3 or even 4 as some people are describing…

    Dunno what that’s about!

  8. loutheperson 25 January 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    That really is annoying. the green is a gorgeous colour even though there are problems!
    I think the yarn itself and the colour ways are so great that it is easier to forgive them however i agree with emilie about contacting them. The break in the middle is perfect for socks but more that one could cause problems for a sweater!

  9. Roobeedoo 26 January 2009 at 11:02 am #

    I have only wound one skein so far and it was 100% OK. How annoying!

Leave a Reply

