got good beet

24 May

DSC00225

My first beet! I pulled it out of the ground this afternoon. I’ve been itching to harvest it for ages! The head has been pushing itself out of the ground since the beginning of May and began getting that ‘cracked earth’ look about the base of its leaf stem not long after. The leaves have been strong and supple since the beginning of April, indicating it was well on its way to being a grown-up beet.

The bulb part of the root is a bit on the small side (I think I may have allowed the leaves to get a bit too big, and I could have left it for a couple more weeks had I not been so impatient), but it’s perfectly shaped and looks incredibly healthy, with a nice long rooty tail. I managed to get it out, and put a tomato plant that badly needed repotting in its place, without disturbing the chives and lettuce growing around it. Hopefully the tom will fare just as well!

I’m off to Lou’s in a moment for a BBQ, so this little beauty will have to wait until tomorrow to be cut into, but I think a (very wee) batch of beet ravioli just might be the ticket.

2 Responses to “got good beet”

  1. loutheperson 24 May 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    love it!
    So cute, enjoy your ravioli!

  2. jissa 25 May 2009 at 9:23 am #

    had never heared of beet ravioli!sounds interesting…

Leave a Reply

