stupid computer!

5 Jun

I have just had one of those weeks were everything goes wrong!!

Emmms and I have been working on our June sock (which in itself has not gone wrong, thankfully); however, my normal trick of printing out the patterns we are working on and taking them with me to knit at work did, my printer ran out of ink! Not all the ink, just the cyan, but as it is a very clever printer it won’t print anything without all of the ink present. It also, which I tried a few times, cannot be tricked into thinking that a black ink cartridge is a cyan one! Why do they make these machines so smart? So I ordered some more ink from my normal ink company, who normally ship out the next day — obviously this did not happen!

Agh!

Well, Emma had the great idea of emailing the pattern to me so I could receive it on my staff computer which in itself seemed like the prefect plan. Of course, Emma’s computer would not attach the files properly, then when she finally got it to work the staff computer crashed! So I spent all week trying to memorise the pattern in my head, which went very, very wrong as I am not a computer — thankfully!

I  received the ink at about 1.30 p.m. today, which is pointless as now my sock is finished and I no longer need it in such a damn hurry!

So that was the on-going problem of the week, now we have the rest!

I recently finished knitting up a couple of items from Stefanie Japel’s Fitted Knits.

cardies 003

Tweedy V-neck

cardies 001

Short-sleeved Cardi

I ran out of the yarn for the bottom one at the beginning of the week, so before my dayshift I decided to head to John Lewis and pick up some more Rowan Cashsoft Chunky,  and to get some delicate pearl buttons for the suit jacket and some chunky square buttons for the cardigan.

Oh yes, of course, the lady in the shop kindly let me know that Rowan discontinued thier Cashsoft Chunky at the beginning of the year and that I would be lucky to find some anywhere! She did give me a few web addresses I could try that may still have some in stock, so thankfully I now have a couple of balls on their way!  That problem solved, however, am I the only one to notice that John Lewis’s button colloection is not as good as it used to be?

I was always guaranteed to walk out of their with, if not exactly what I wanted, pretty close to it. I walked out of there on Wednesday with nothing but a sad, sad face. Thinking I would cheer myself up I went to Liberty’s to check out their button collection and was equally disapointed. It looks like it wasn’t going to be my day for buttons!

I am going to skip the chain stores next time and head straight to All The Fun of the Fair, (the shop not the musical! This is not a joke!) as they do not bat an eyelid when you haul up there, make yourself comfortable on the floor and tip out the button jars. They will not let me down, I know it!

Roll on the weekend!

3 Responses to “stupid computer!”

  1. aneet 5 June 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    So that’s what you’re gonna get up to when i’m gone, eh? Tut, tut xx

  2. loutheperson 5 June 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    Yep pretty much, that and going to the craft fair and i-knit for some yarn!!! Gonna miss you though!!!

  3. ICR 10 June 2009 at 4:06 am #

    LOVE your site, will visit again :) Submitted this post to Google News Reader.

Leave a Reply

