perfect imperfection

9 Jun

It is my birthday coming up and I really wanted to make myself a dress to wear. I have had the idea in my head for a while but could not seem to visualise how to construct it.

The thought of cutting up some gorgeous material and making mistakes scares the hell out of me (something I think I inherited from Emmms!) so I decided to make a prototype using an old bed sheet.

dress1 003

I am very impressed with the results! I can’t believe I managed to sew this thing without a pattern. It fits like a dream too! It looks better on so will try and get another photo later!

It is far from perfect. I didn’t leave a seam allowance for the zip,

dress1 004

and I cut the chest band too small;

dress1 005

however, if the real thing fails I can always wear this little perfect imperfection!

dress1 002

3 Responses to “perfect imperfection”

  1. emmms 9 June 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    It’s awesome!!!!! We need to get some pics of you modelling it!

  2. loutheperson 9 June 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    yeah i know, ill try later if i have time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sewing up for summer! « loumms - 6 May 2010

    […] had a dabble in this practice last year with great success, I made the dress I wore for my birthday, Fatima, my woolen sleveless shift dress for those smart summer evenings, and I put together a […]

Leave a Reply

