cardi for jacob

29 Jun

A friend of mine has been helping my love with some additions to her website, so as a thank you for his hard work I decided to knit his young son, Jacob, a cardi.

jacobcardi 002

I have been wanting to knit A Cardigan for Merry for a while now but needed a child to knit it for! It has to be the cutest baby garment I have seen yet and has been sitting in my Ravelry queue for too long! The pattern is by Anny Purls and is an adaptation of A Cardigan for Arwen by Kate Gilbert published in the winter 2006 edition of Interweave Knits.

I used six 50 g balls of the Biggan Designs First Cross Merino in green, which I found all in all a very good yarn to knit with. I did have a few problems with one of the balls I bought, where the yarn had been joined halfway through the ball there were some weaknesses; however, this was such a minor issue I have no problems reccommending this yarn. As it can be machine washed at 3o C and when I blocked it there was no running of the colour at all, it is perfect for a child’s garment that will be washed numerous times!

jacobcardi 005

This was the first time ever that I have followed a pattern as it is written without any changes or additions and in the colour used in the original! I did consider red, but my mam said that green was the way to go!

I suggest this pattern is knit at the same time as doing something else, like sunbathing, watching movies, or in Emmms’s case reading spy novels, as once you get the hang of the cable it is pretty straight forward!

jacobcardi 004

I used to be in fear of seaming so when I read that this was knit in three pieces I almost switched to knitting in the round instead, but I didn’t give in to the fear and have came out the other end now knowing that I can seam pretty well!

I used the mattress stitch from Vogue Knitting: The Ultimate Knitting Book and once I got into the rhythm of it it went without a hitch!

I hope they all like it and I am looking forward to seeing some photo’s of Jacob wearing it!

3 Responses to “cardi for jacob”

  1. emmms 29 June 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    SO CUTE!!!! Those wee toggles are a perfect fit. Ask them if you can post the pics of Jacob wearing it here!!

  2. Lou's mam 29 June 2009 at 11:49 pm #

    Lou the cardi for Jacob looks lovely. I can’t wait to see him in it. The colour looks lovely. I will make sure you gets pics a.s.a.p.

  3. Roobeedoo 17 July 2009 at 4:24 pm #

    That’s lovely! I have this pattern in my queue for the next baby that comes along so i will keep that yartn in mind too.

Leave a Reply

