eunoia tunic

18 Jul

into the sun

Eunoia, a top-down raglan tunic, was actually born a good few years ago. I had been yearning for something that would flow gently over my hips, but still allow me to hide inside an enormous cowly funnel of a neck. Unfortunately, all my attempts either fell at the last hurdle or never quite made it out of the sketchbook. This time, however, I think I’ve just about got it.

long neck

The deep cowled neck, with its gartered button band, is ringed with a subtle ruching pattern that extends down the front of the tunic as a central panel. Along with a pair of strategic pleats, this ruching comprises a somewhat non-traditional bust-shaping. The A-line skirt flares out to a weighty hem, which is mimicked in the hem of the sleeves.

vaguely stylish 1
Perhaps my favourite detail — aside from the awesomeness of all those buttons — can be found in the mirror-image pleating on the puff sleeves, directly in line with the pleating on the main body. Created using two different techniques, the lines formed by both sets of pleating complete the look, by adding a gentle contrast of contours.

detail 1

Eunoia (yu-NOY-ah), from the Greek εύνοια, meaning ‘well mind’ or ‘beautiful thought’, is precisely the frame of mind I was in when this tunic came together. I’ve decided to call it Eunoia, kind of after Christian Bok’s book, but also kind of just because I like the word and it makes me happy – look at all those vowels!

This is an open test-knit, meaning the written pattern is still a bit of a work in progress. I plan to have to finished pattern ready by the end of September, but in the meantime I welcome any and all feedback and comments. I’d like to offer it in many different sizes, though the raglan shaping does accommodate a wide degree of customisation, so any help on this front in particular will be welcome!

If you’d like to give it a go, the pattern for Eunoia can be downloaded here. The pattern is also available on Ravelry.

4 Responses to “eunoia tunic”

  1. Chris 18 July 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    It’s adorable – I love it!

  2. Laura 19 July 2009 at 8:40 am #

    Yay! I love the look of this. Thanks for sharing! xx

  3. Karina 19 August 2009 at 1:45 am #

    I can’t seem to download the pattern. Please help?

  4. loumms 19 August 2009 at 9:27 am #

    Hi Karina, Thanks for letting us know and, more importantly, for liking Eunoia!

    Just in case you look here first, I’ve emailed a copy of it to you. It downloaded fine in my test, but I’ve re-uploaded the pattern just in case it was more than a WordPress hiccough!

Leave a Reply

