friday giveaway bonanza, week 3!

18 Sep

aethenoth2

Another week, another Friday giveaway!  In honour of the completion of our Year of Socks, we’re celebrating with a weekly giveaway we’re calling the Friday Giveaway Bonanza! Every Friday between now and 9 October, we’re going to be having a series of one-day contests to win your own wee parcel of Loummsy delights.

dsc00240

To enter, just leave your comment below by midnight tonight: how much do you love your socks, why do you knit them, could you do without wearing them, how awesome is designing them? Tell us all! We will announce another winner on Sunday, so stay tuned!

Good luck!

37 Responses to “friday giveaway bonanza, week 3!”

  1. Jan 18 September 2009 at 9:03 am #

    I have only knitted a few pairs of socks being a novice, I gaze at them and think how clever I am for knitting them but before I know it along comes my teenage grandaughter who also falls in love with them and off they go into her wardrobe, so I never get the chance to wear them and show off. Never mind I am glad they are good enough for her to want to wear them and I love her for showing off her Nanny’s efforts. Jan xx

  2. Marsha 18 September 2009 at 9:14 am #

    I love the comfy snuggly fit of a pair of hand knit socks. Seems like nothing from a store can match the comfort…not even the wools socks. I could probably live without them, but my feet would be very unhappy. The remaining airs I have get washed and worn a lot! I suppose I need to find a new hiding place for my newly finished socks instead of in my sock drawer.

    I have made several pairs but have only 2 pair to show for it. I have an adult daughter that seems to love my socks more than she “thinks” I do. But it’s kind of the same story with my hand knitted dish cloths and wash cloths. She and my oldest sone seem to have most of what I’ve made.

    But that is ok, at least I know they are well loved and appreciated.

    I wish I had the design capability but alas I must live vacariously through the designs of others and imagine waht inspired them as I knit the patterns they produce.

  3. Sara 18 September 2009 at 9:20 am #

    I just love how classy they look! I mean, compared to store-bought socks, knitted socks just add instant class that I can’t wait to show off.

  4. Jo B 18 September 2009 at 9:21 am #

    I adore my socks, I feel instantly warm and soothed as soon as I put some on. My Toes seem to be happy. I have a gorgeous argylle pair and stipey yellow and brown are my favourites at the moment.

  5. Kathe 18 September 2009 at 9:22 am #

    I’m not sure how my feet were ever warm before I wore handknit socks…I was always looking for something to complete my outfits and now I realise it was socks! Fancy ones, bright ones, plain ones, comfy ones – for every occasion. I won’t stop knitting socks until my sock drawer has every kind (and then I’ll just buy another sock drawer)

  6. wickedwoollywitch 18 September 2009 at 9:28 am #

    i love how it feels when you put your foot into a newly knitted sock and just wiggle your toes. soft powdery sand is the only thing that compares. shop bought socks just dont and cant compare. and this fabulous feeling is what keeps me knitting socks besides how wonderful they look of course

  7. Alexandra 18 September 2009 at 9:42 am #

    I’ve only started knitting socks recently, but I love them! They are fun, easy to carry around and they are so comfortable to wear! I love having socks that fit my feet perfectly!

  8. Lyn Collett 18 September 2009 at 10:23 am #

    I wasn’t sure I would like socks. I put off making them for ages. Virtually every knitter I knew seemed obsessed with them but I didn’t really see the point. Surely they’d feel bulky in my shoes; surely I’d never get them to fit properly; and how on earth do you turn a heel? But the idea that I ought to be able to make socks kept coming back.

    Finally this spring I took the plunge. I bought a skein of sock yarn and figured I’d give it a try, just to say I’d made a pair. I’d make one pair, accept they aren’t for me and move on…

    Well, I’ve moved on… to be a fully-converted sock-knitter! I’ve made 6 pairs of socks so far this year and I’m planning more. I’ve made them for myself; I’ve made them as presents for knitters and non-knitters. I love them! There’s nothing cosier and more comfortable for padding around the house than a nice pair of handknit socks. They fit better than any commercial socks I’ve bought and there’s such a gorgoeous array of colours and patterns. They are the perfect portable project, so now I get to knit on my commute, and they are a great present. But the thing I like best is the mischievous feeling of knowing that underneath my plain black knee-high boots when I’m walking around the busy law firm where I work, are some beautiful, crazy and wonderful knitted creations. Socks really do rock.

  9. amy 18 September 2009 at 10:34 am #

    why do I like hand knit socks?

    i think it’s one of those thing where, as soon as you put on a pair, you just know.

    so for my daughter and I (we both knit socks) – wearing hand knit socks is one of those feel good things… especially on those days when life is off kilter.

  10. Donna 18 September 2009 at 11:00 am #

    Socks are small, portable, and fun. Plus since I use DPNS when I do socks, most folks are suitable impressed by the mulitude of sticks!

  11. Sciteacher 18 September 2009 at 11:02 am #

    My oh my do I love socks ~ and now that I have learned how, I love making them, too! The right pair of socks can make an outfit, and a great fitting pair can save the day. I teach high school kids, but my daughter and my students tease me by saying that as far as socks go, I should have been an elementary teacher….because of my penchant for unusual socks.

    I love to match my socks to my outfit–and to have them boldly show–and I’m not afraid of crazy colors and wild themes. I have Halloween socks, Christmas socks, Easter socks, St Patrick’s day socks, socks with checks, plaids, stripes and flowers…and now I’ll also have socks that match my scarf or shawl or hat.

  12. Ivy 18 September 2009 at 11:17 am #

    I’ve just started knitting socks and already I can understand why some knitters go nuts over making them. Can’t wait until I get better and better so I can knit lots of lovely socks.

  13. Lucy 18 September 2009 at 11:18 am #

    I love socks so much! They are addictive and fun and portable, and it is so easy to add in almost any stitch pattern to design your own.

    I knit socks because I love the process, I really love using fancy sock yarn in crazy colours that wouldn’t work as a garment worn anywhere other than the feet, and because every single time I turn a heel I am amazed at my own cleverness.

    Love the blog! Lucy

  14. wanabelle100 18 September 2009 at 11:21 am #

    I like making them because they’re so portable! and love how you can buy more expensive yarn and still spend less than what you would spend for a sweater in similar material.

  15. arly 18 September 2009 at 11:25 am #

    I like knitting socks because of the smiles it brings to everyone I have given a pair . arly

  16. Laura 18 September 2009 at 12:04 pm #

    I pretty much always have a sock on the go. I love the fact that there is so much gorgeous sock yarn out there and that you (usually) only have to buy one skein of it. I love the fact that Ravelry has opened up so many doors for patterns. How did I ever try to find a free pattern before it existed??? How I choose a project can happen in one of two ways – I either decide that I HAVE to knit with a particular yarn, and then pour over patterns until I have found the perfect match, or vice versa.

  17. Sarah 18 September 2009 at 12:04 pm #

    I love my socks because they’re so warmm and cushy, but never sweaty like other socks. And my socks actually help my mood and lead to keep mee in a satisfied mood all day, no matter how stressful my day gets.

    I have only completed 3 pair, but have several more OTN. I think that the best part about knitting socks is how satisfying they are. Satisfying to buy a pretty, luscious, single skein and to know automatically what you’re going to make with it. Satisfying to wind it into a cake and watch the colors going past. Satisfying to knit with, knowing that each finished sock is going to feel good to wear, and satisfying when someone comments on the my wild-colored socks.

  18. Susan 18 September 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    I make socks because store-boughten socks don’t fit right, and because it makes me look clever in front of my non-knitting friends. I need all the clever I can get!

  19. Fernanda 18 September 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    I just started knitting socks and I love that I can splurge on a little yarn and still make something beautiful and wearable. I also enjoy working on new stitch patterns without having to invest all the time for a sweater. Nice and quick.

  20. Miranda Stanbery 18 September 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    I’ve only knitted a few pairs of socks but they are wonderful! I never knew that hand knit socks could feel so wonderful on the feet!

    I’m a sockoholic and can’t seem to stop knitting them. As soon as I get one pair off the needles I have another pair started in a different color and/or pattern.

  21. deborahfillmer 18 September 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    I love wearing hand knit socks way more than store bought. Unfortunately, I cannot knit fast enough to have a large collection so I must supplement my collection with those lovely, stylish white cotton jobs found at the local box store… Oh well, I suppose that makes it even more of a treat when I do get to wear the hand knit ones…

    Thanks for the contest!

  22. Ruth 18 September 2009 at 12:50 pm #

    Knitting socks connects me with my mother. When I am knitting socks, I think of her. She is 82 now and has knitted socks her whole life. She was in high school during World War II and knitting socks for soldiers was allowed during school classes. As a young bride, she knit socks to keep the family warm. As we grew and married she knit socks for sons- and daugthers-in-law, and finally for the grand-children. She never uses a pattern and just knits from memory. Her memory is beginning to fade a bit and the other day she phoned me to say that she couldn’t remember how to turn a heel. I got out a pattern book and read her the directions. The whole process came flooding back to her memory and she was so relieved that she could still make her trademark socks.

  23. Dawnmaire 18 September 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    I love knitting socks because they’re so portable. It’s so much fun, when I’m sitting waiting somewhere such as the doctors office or the train station, to just yank out the needles and start clicking away. The looks I get are priceless – ranging from “Omigod, that’s so weird” to “Omigod, that’s so cool.” Every once in a while I’ll get a knowing nod and smile from another knitter, and a conversation will ensue.

    I love *giving* handknit socks, too. The expressions of delight on the faces of the recipients make the whole thing worthwhile. I have a pair going now for a niece who is a huge fan of the baseball team here in the city where I live, and it’s going to have the logo of the team knit into it. I don’t think she’ll ever take them off :)

  24. scottishbunny2003 18 September 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    I love wearing handmade socks, they’re soft and squishy and there is absolutely nothing that beats feeling loved from the toes up :D

    Li x

  25. wondrousitem 18 September 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    I never thought I’d enjoy socks…so much work for such as small object. Now, I find myself completely fascinated by the smallest facet. “Look, how this one stitch is lighter than his neighbors from the kettle dying! See how connected to history this is, people have been knitting on DPNs for hundreds of years! How fine these lacy socks will be when I am done, and how envious everyone will be!”

    And then I hoard and protect the finished socks, only to trot them out for occasions when I know someone will notice and appreciate them.

  26. Barbara Petraske 18 September 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Always thought socks were the last bastion of my knitting life especially on dpns, then found magic loop and two-toe-up method of sock making and fell in love with the possibilities all the yarns provide. To me there is nothing more special then making/wearing/giving handmade socks – why? because you will not find another no matter where you go — each is a unique creation and says if you are a receiver of the item that someone loves you very much — if I choose to wear the finished item – means I love myself which is never a bad thing. Knitting socks means never getting bored with the WIP and I admit to never really having a UFO sock waiting for its mate – Socks are the ultimate craft creation.

  27. knitbee 18 September 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    I love socks for the yarn…socks allow you to use all those yummy hand dies that you cant anywhere else. Hand knits always fit right because you made them for you. Socks are also the perfect size to fit in my purse as an on the go project.

  28. oonagh rabenwald 18 September 2009 at 2:10 pm #

    i currently just love staring at socks……….i have sock yarn, but have yet to take the plunge!! would have done it lately, but am working on the x-mas knitting………..
    after that, i get to cast on that yummy yarn and do socks for me!!!!!

  29. leesy 18 September 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Socks are my favorite knit. I love being able to use just one skein of a luxury quality yarn to make something beautiful and enduring, I love giving away hand knit socks, I love being able to work on a project that’s complicated in scope but small in scale and thus done in a couple of weeks at most. The funny thing is that I only ever wear hand knit socks myself as bedsocks.

  30. TAOJ 18 September 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    Socks are a fun knit as you can see them taking shape. You can use almost any design or pattern on them and they look great. They don’t go out of style and are super comfy, plus they keep my toes warm. I wish I had a pair of different socks for every day of the year, I wouldn’t need to wash them so often then! I think that sock knitting is an addiction and its one I’m proud to have!

  31. angela 18 September 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    I love wearing my handknit socks. I knit most of my socks for others. My husband begs for new socks every few months! It is such a nice feeling to be able to make something people enjoy :)

  32. Nova 18 September 2009 at 7:13 pm #

    Living in one of those areas with 4 distinct seasons, (Rainy, Hot, Moderate and Freaking Cold) I am quite fond of socks, especially the thick, kitted kind.

  33. ikkinlala 18 September 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    I love wearing my handknit socks – they’re way more comfortable than most kinds I could buy – but I knit them mostly because they’re fun to knit. I could do without wearing them if I lived in a place where it was warm enough that I didn’t have to wear socks at all, but wool socks are pretty much essential for winters here. I haven’t designed anything complicated yet (I have knit plain-ish socks without following a pattern), but I’d like to someday.

  34. katie m. 18 September 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    I’ll be honest: I lost my sock-knitting mojo over the summer. Now that fall is approaching, though, I’m starting to hanker after a few new pairs. And more room for new yarn.

  35. Twizzler on Ravelry 18 September 2009 at 10:47 pm #

    Very cool!
    Love my socks by wearing them whenever I can.
    Knit them because I love the style, the fit, the comfort and the many many many options to customize hand knit socks.
    Have to take them off to wash them – LOL (that’s when I can’t wear them). Designing them would be awesome but I’m at the “tweaking pre-existing patterns” stage getting up my courage for an original creation (baby steps).
    Rock on sock knitters, rock on!

  36. Gina 18 September 2009 at 11:26 pm #

    I can’t do without my handknit socks. As a matter of fact I can’t do without knitting them…I have to have two pairs going at all times. One that travels with me and one I have to concentrate on at home.

  37. thatgrrl 19 September 2009 at 4:19 am #

    I do love knitting socks, and I almost always make up the pattern as I go- they are just the perfect way to play around with cables and lacy ideas and still end up with something wearable. I went a little nuts on anklets this spring/summer, but that just means I have room for new yarn for wooly winter socks…

Comments are closed.

