friday giveaway bonanza, week 4!

25 Sep

5 pics

Another week, another Friday giveaway!  In honour of the completion of our Year of Socks, we’re celebrating with a weekly giveaway we’re calling the Friday Giveaway Bonanza! Every Friday between now and 9 October, we’re going to be having a series of one-day contests to win your own wee parcel of Loummsy delights.

charlottesweb 003

To enter, just leave your comment below by midnight tonight: how much do you love your socks, why do you knit them, could you do without wearing them, how awesome is designing them? Tell us all! We will announce another winner on Sunday, so stay tuned!

Good luck!

23 Responses to “friday giveaway bonanza, week 4!”

  1. May 25 September 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    I love the color of your lavender/purple socks. : ) How pretty!

  2. Knittingdancer (Ravelry) 25 September 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    I have never got up the courage to knit socks, yet. I am going to try to knit some on the 9″ circular needles. My LYS teaches class on them all the time. I have trouble with laddering when I use double point needles.

  3. helen (of troy) 25 September 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    Why socks? Why do i love them?

    simple–but not–so many ways to start (cast ons and direction) so many ways to shape (toe, heel and leg)
    so many options for patterns.
    so many colors (i don’t look good in orange.. so no orange sweaters or shirts for me.–orange around my face is not attractive.. but orange socks? why not?

    and while i love hot pink, being a size XXL, well hot pink is not a good color for a woman my size..
    but hot pink socks–why not!

    and they are so fast to knit, and fun to wear.. I have 3 dozen already, and i am still knitting more!

  4. AnaMarie 25 September 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    Love the Edwardian Boating Socks!

    Soon, I hope to have only handknit socks. They last longer, look better, are so warm and comfortable, and are a project I can always keep in my purse for long lines, meetings, and even just walking around town.

    While I could live without my socks, I wouldn’t be very happy!

  5. Heather 25 September 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    I got started knitting socks for the challenge. Now I find that they are a great way to try out a technique I haven’t tried yet. I worked my first lace and am planning my first cable project. I have learned to alter patterns according to my gauge working them.
    I think they are warmer and more comforting to wear than store bought. My family clamors for handknit because”they are better than the ones you bought”. Could I live with out them perhaps but I know I can’ t live with out knitting them.
    Thank you for the giveaway.

  6. Heide 25 September 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    I love my handknitted socks because they are so tailored to my feet and just feel special somehow.
    I love knitting socks because they are small and I can easily knit them on the go, plus once they are knitted they don’t take up a lot of space. Good telly knitting too!

    I could not live without my knitted socks. And my OH is beginning to feel the same way about his too.

    People who wear store bought socks do not know what they are missing out on.

  7. Patricia 25 September 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    I don’t wear any of the socks I knit. There is too much demand for them from my family and friends. They are literally spoken for within hours of being cast on.
    I think people love them because a)they are hand made, b)they are custom fitted, c)each pair is unique, and d)each pair is made with love.

    I don’t mind not getting to wear the socks I make. For me, knitting is more about the process than the final product. I love getting a nice hank of yarn. I love to contemplate it as it sits in my stash bowl on the living room table. I love to put it on the swift and wind it. I love to look through stitch patterns and knit up swatches, and I love watching it develop on the needles.

  8. Judi Regan 25 September 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    How much do I love socks? At work, I’m known as “The Sock Lady” – I’m always working on a sock project. I think knitting socks makes me feel accomplished as a knitter. I’m glad the cooler weather is coming so I can wear them all the time. I just discovered your blog and I’m sure I’ll be a follower!

  9. Christine 25 September 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    I love to wear my handknit socks because all day long every time I look down at my feet I remember them and it makes me smile ;) Nothing else gives me that pick-me-up all day long!

  10. Roobeedoo 25 September 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    I love my socks as much as….Belgian chocolate…MMMMM!
    I knit them because… it keeps me calm and centred, with the added bonus of funky feet.
    I could NOT do without wearing them – I live in the frozen North!
    Designing them is pretty awesome and time-consuming and makes my brain hurt almost as much as helping my daughter with her maths homework. I wish she was studying socks at school.

  11. Claire 25 September 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Socks! I can NOT stop knitting them. 3 years ago I said, “Socks? why would I learn to knit socks” And then a sock worm snuck into my ear one night and I can’t stop now. Love to knit them, love to wear them, have made all my adult kids and my Freaky consort and my friends’ little kids.

  12. ikkinlala 25 September 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    The weather is getting cooler, and I’m loving my socks even more now than I did last week. I love the huge variety of patterns available for socks, although I don’t know if I’ll ever get to everything on my list.

  13. Silvia 25 September 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    It’s neat you guys are having a giveway, I just saw it on Ravelry.
    I’m a recent sock knitter, I just learned how to knit them a few months ago but I now understand why most knitters love them. They’re fun and quick and the amount of gorgeous sock yarn and patterns are endless! I seem to have a pair on my needles all the time now. :-)

  14. purplesteph 25 September 2009 at 5:14 pm #

    I love my socks so much – I am wearing handknit socks right now and my feet are warm and happy, and even possibly smug. (I’ll have to ask them).

    Mmmmm, handknit socks. My sock drawer, stash and needle box are all overflowing, and the obsession shows no signs of slowing. My brain is busy with stitch patterns for socks as-yet-undesigned, even as I strive to complete the ones I’m supposed to be doing first.

    At one point this month I had 4 pairs of part-completed socks on the go. Is this a new high, or a new low? Who can say?

  15. Emilie 25 September 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    I love loumms socks. But mostly I love Lou and Emmms. :)

  16. LJL 25 September 2009 at 6:15 pm #

    I love to knit socks because I love sock yarn. Sock yarn is so beautiful!

  17. Fernanda 25 September 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    Socks are the perfect size for an instant gratification project. You can try different stitch patterns without getting too bored. I love socks!

  18. antiprincess 25 September 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    I love to feel loved and warm. I love giving people a little portable warmth so they can feel loved too. that’s why I love creating, giving and wearing hand knit socks.

  19. Glynis 25 September 2009 at 8:23 pm #

    My feet have a hard life, I walk on them, I run on them, heck, sometimes I hop skip and jump on them.
    My feet are good to me, so I am good to my feet, and that means cosseting them in the very best socks. As far as I’m concerned there are no socks better than lovingly hand-made, custom fit socks.
    I love my socks cos I love my feet!

  20. Belroxsum 25 September 2009 at 10:55 pm #

    Such gorgeous wool, so many patterns, so little time…socks, socks, socks – just can’t help it…

  21. karamel 25 September 2009 at 11:26 pm #

    I’m a new sock knitter and a newish knitter (less than one year at both). I finished my first pair of socks ever as a gift for Mr Karamel and he wore through the heels in record time, so I’m learning how to mend socks now. I’ve recently finished my first pair of socks for me and they are currently blocking. I love socks because there is always something challenging about them (at least for me) and there are so many options.

  22. Twizzler on Ravelry 26 September 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Socks! There is something so comforting to the soul and sole (ha ha ha) to create something so functional yet poetic.

  23. libbilu 27 September 2009 at 12:16 am #

    I have knit socks for myself, my family and for total strangers, who are now friends. Nothing says love like handknit socks. With all the beautiful sock designs and the beautiful yarn that indie dyers are producing, each pair knit is unique!

    Thank you for sharing your patterns.

Comments are closed.

