fatima fabric

1 Oct

I have never been much of a fan of the old shift dress, probably as it is really hard to find one that fits perfectly and doesn’t just look like a giant sack, so when I came across this dress on Burda Stlye.com  in August  I decided I would try my hand at creating one that works for me!

Make this elegant shift dress for yourself!

 

 

 

 

 

 

So off I went on my search for the perfect fabric!! It may have taken a while but I think I have found it.

I wanted to go for something woolen for winter, and in brown, but not too dull, so when i came across this piece of pure loveleyness in Rolls and Rems fabric shop I knew it was the one!!

DSCN1476

The light flower stenciling over the entire piece gives a really delicate feel to the thick wool.

It will need lined, normally something I would fear with the whole of my heart and soul however I recently bought an amazing sewing book, ‘A-Z guide to dressmaking, a constable guide’  that explains in detail an easy way to line almost anything so I can wait to put that into practice, I will share my knowledge (and possible failings) when I am done!!!!

How incredible is the woman on the front of this book?!!! Me and emmms love the way she in totally calm and un-nerved by the whole sewing experience, delicatly guiding the fabric through the machine, unlike ourselves 60% of the time, we need to be more like her!!!!

DSCN1478

Anyway, I am going to begin cutting the fabric tomorrow so wish me luck!!

One Response to “fatima fabric”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sewing up for summer! « loumms - 6 May 2010

    […] a dabble in this practice last year with great success, I made the dress I wore for my birthday, Fatima, my woolen sleveless shift dress for those smart summer evenings, and I put together a yellow […]

Leave a Reply

