friday giveaway bonanza, week 5!!

2 Oct

3893398868_b6142cf414_edited

Another week, another Friday giveaway — and it’s the penultimate one, no less!  We’re celebrating the completion of our Year of Socks with a weekly giveaway we’re calling the Friday Giveaway Bonanza, a one-day contest series to win your own wee parcel of Loummsy delights.

court line

To enter, just leave your comment below, before midnight tonight, on how much you love socks, knitting them, wearing them, designing them! We will announce another winner on Sunday, so stay tuned!

Good luck!

52 Responses to “friday giveaway bonanza, week 5!!”

  1. Rachel 2 October 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Wow! Very impressive work! I love to knit socks. Just finishing up my new favorite pair (I swear I say that every time), Vilai in Wollmeise 100%, Herzblut. Enjoy all of your new socks!

  2. Suzanne 2 October 2009 at 11:56 am #

    Oh, wow1 Those are some lovely patterns! I love socks because they’re small and portable (so I can chase my pre-schooler without having to untangle myself!). My husband is a recent convert to hand-knit socks, and has decided that a monthly “yarn therapy” budget is cheaper than actual therapy and more productive than bubble wrap. Hee hee! Everyone in my immediate family has at least 1 pair, except the pre-k one. He outgrew his. :pout: Oh well, they went to someone who loves them (and has probably already outgrown them as well LOL). I need to get my Aunt and Uncle’s shoe sizes so I can knit them each a pair for Christmas. They loved the scarves I made them last year sooooo……… ;-)

  3. Sade 2 October 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    Love wearing handknit socks! Keep my toes toasty at home when I refuse to put on the heating :)

  4. Ashley 2 October 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    I was just recently sucked into my sock obsession a few months ago. The vast majority of this obsession has been spent (thus far) collecting more sock yarn that I could possibly hope to use in a year, but take great enjoyment from cuddling with it! I’m currently learning some new techniques with Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways that are really fun to work with. I’ve also joined a few club for even more addiction enabling :)

  5. Laura (Laurita on Ravelry) 2 October 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    HI!! All your socks are LOVELY!! I’m downloading “Caliente slocks” right now!

    I’ve discovered knitted socks recently and I LOVE THEM!! Knitting them (the thrill to get to the heel…), wearing them (oh, so cozy!) and even gifting them (the look on their faces!).

    Thanks for the giveaway!!

  6. saradippity 2 October 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Socks? Did someone say socks? I just finished a pair last night and cast on for the next one. Cozy squishy warm wool socks. Not as cozy looking as those stunning blue ones though…. But mine do smell like Kool-Aid.

  7. heather 2 October 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    October is definitely time for socks! Especially since our furnace isn’t working, so we’re bundling up until it gets fixed. Love socks as portable projects, and need to make more for me, as several pairs have been claimed by family and friends.

  8. Jaime 2 October 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    I heart socks! For so many reasons. They’re soft and cushiony…each step in a handmade socks is like a little whisper, saying, “You made this. It is soft. It fits great. You are awesome.” :) I love mastering (if I ever do!) the tiny, intricate stitches. I love using DPNs because they look cool and are just flat-out fabulous. Love tossing a half-sock in a bag, pulling it out somewhere, and being able to just pick up where I left off. I love squishy, colorful sock yarn. I love memorizing the leg designs, counting off for the heels, back and forth with the slipped stitches, and then turning the heel! It’s like a magic formula that somehow causes the yarn stitches to march into place for that little dent to form. I love the decreases, with my little scrap of paper with “K” for KNIT and “D” for DECREASE that I flip over and over again. Yes, I’m old school. Then the happy, mindless gusset…the sudden flurry of decreases (“I’m almost to the end! They almost fit!”)…and a quick Kitchener…and…they’re done. I look at them, turn them over, put my foot inside, and brag to my husband. It’s always a good day.

    I love your sock design! It’s almost like an Egyptian design…the pyramids, the little waves of sand…:) I like the top one too. Simple…I would call them “Mummy Socks” since they remind me of mummy swaddling for Halloween!

  9. Kim 2 October 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    Love the patterns you guys have created! Quite a few have been added to my rav queue, and I can’t wait to finish the socks on my needles to knit one of yours!

  10. FSurette 2 October 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    Great pattern!

    I actually taught myself to knit with the goal of making socks and the first pair I ever made were both lace and knee highs which I knit over the course of a semester as the teaching assistant for a large university lecture class–as a result the students usually remembered who I was.

    Someday I hope to replace most of my sock collection with handknits including some my mom makes me out of her handspun. :-)

  11. shawlcat 2 October 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    I absolutely adore handknit socks. I have knit 24 pairs so far this year–about half for me, half for others. I am thrilled when the thermometer drops low enough to get out the socks for the first time each fall. It is like wrapping my feet in hugs. Perfectly-fitting hugs. They make the perfect take-with-you project, can be as simple or as complicated as you like, and don’t cost the moon for an entire project’s worth of yarn. What’s not to love?

  12. Tracy 2 October 2009 at 1:14 pm #

    I’m about to start knitting my first pair of socks… I’m scared to death! : )
    But I love wearing socks around the house since I’m always cold and my husband is not… so it’s time to learn! Then I’ll be a “true” knitter, right?!!?

  13. Bowen 2 October 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    Handknit socks are hugs for your feet. That is all.

  14. Amy 2 October 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    Handknit socks always fit perfectly. I’m currently working on the Target Practice socks. Finished one and just turned the heel on the 2nd. Now I just need the motivation to finish it!

  15. Glynis 2 October 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    I love it when I’m wearing smart business type clothes, black trousers etc, but have a pair of crazy bright hand-knit socks on my feet. There is something mildly subversive about it ;-)

  16. Threadless 2 October 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    Socks are fantastic! I even love plain ol’ stockinette socks. Socks are the best knitting project because they are so portable, and are pretty much instant gratification. (plus they are so practical)

    My challenge for early 2010 (or sooner, but I have so much holiday knitting) is to learn to do 2 socks at once. AHHHH!

  17. Helen 2 October 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    Put on a pair of handknit socks and prepare to curl up in a fetal position and purr!

  18. Heather Kinne 2 October 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    I have rediscovered my love of socks this past year. Yours are lovely! I will have to add some of yours to my queue.

  19. Jenn 2 October 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    I just started knitting socks and I love them. Nothing else has the great yarn that socks do, and nothing else lets you knit such great firm useful fabric! I’m sold. :)

  20. maprice on rav 2 October 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    I have always loved funky socks. It has always felt a tad subversive to be wearing normal everyday jeans and t-shirt or even dress up pants and a blouse, but knowing that under the legs of the pants and hidden in the shoes are color and fun pictures and sometimes, even individually wrapped toes (I do love toe socks.) Now, I can make my own. I love having an easily portable product that can be lace, cables, plain or any combination of the three that at the end of the day will fit me perfectly and which will make me happy and proud. Not all of them are bright colors, and I haven’t braved Intarsia or Fair Isle yet, but they make me proud and happy and keep my tootsies warm.

  21. adrienne 2 October 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    sock obsession, definitely. i eat, sleep, and dream socks! sometimes, i even knit them! LOL!

  22. Sarah35 2 October 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    I wear my socks every day, I have lots of ‘special’ pairs that I wear in my walking boots to keep me warm (or cool) as my doggie and I love to walk miles. I always have several socks on the needles as well so that I can have them with me when I have to wait for my daughter or other half either on the school run or the station run (I love it when the train is late). I can’t wait to cast on ‘Charlotte’s web’ as it is nearly time to get the wellies out again. Thank you for your fab patterns and inspirations (far more than a years worth I think).

  23. blu roux 2 October 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    I second the thought that hand knit socks are like a hug for your feet. I used to be afraid of knitting socks that were (to my mind) too patterned. I was scared that I would mess them up. Not anymore! I mean, I still mess up from time to time, but I’m not afraid to try any more. :)

  24. sockmonkery 2 October 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    ZOMG! Love your guys’ designs. I just need the time to knit some up! I love knitting socks as they are the ultimate portable knitting. You can do so much with them and sock yarn is the best bang for your buck. Nothing says love like hand knit socks.

  25. Geknitics 2 October 2009 at 2:26 pm #

    I’m so happy fall is finally here so I can wear my hand knit socks again!

  26. Jessica Rose 2 October 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    Socks are fantastic. everyone needs them. my family loves them as much as I do and as much as I love knitting them. the sock yarn stash is taking over my house.

  27. StaceyKnitsIt 2 October 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    I love everything about knitting socks: the colorful yarn, knitting each different new pattern, the result, and wearing them!
    So much sock yarn and patterns I want to knit.
    Haven’t designed any.

    StaceyKnitsIt Ravelry

  28. Emily 2 October 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    I want to love to knit socks but first I have to learn to knit socks! I plan to learn very soon as will come in handy for my 5 year old who has sensory issues & it is very hard to find socks that meet all of her needs…so making them myself will make my life SO much easier when it’s time to put socks on her little picky feet!

  29. Christine 2 October 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    I love knitting socks because you really get to see them form. So many other knitting things are bigger and you don’t see the finished project until it’s nearly done. With socks, you can see them grow out of the ball of yarn.

  30. Tammy 2 October 2009 at 3:23 pm #

    A year of socks is awesome! I wish I had done that! Maybe next year!!! :D :D :D Actually; I’ll adjust that, maybe next school year I’ll have time to make a pair of socks a month. Then I’d have a drawer full of socks to wear. Yes, socks for just me! :D :D Anyway, congratulations on completing a year of socks!!!!!

  31. Ivy 2 October 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    Those are lovely.

    I adore knitting socks. I knit them more than anything else and I refuse to buy socks. Every pair I own has come off my own needles. They’re so much fun.

  32. Jess 2 October 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    I hate commercially produced socks. In fact, I almost never wear socks. I don’t know why.

    However, knitting socks has made me reconsider my sock-free life. There’s something so satisfying about how soft and squishy handknit socks are. The sheer amount of different yarn bases, colors, and patterns available is enough to keep me knitting all the time — and keep my feet toasty warm without wearing commercially produced socks.

  33. Emma 2 October 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    Your socks are lovely.

    I love to knit socks cause they are the perfect project to carry on the bus when I need to go places. My fiancee loves the socks I have made him so far and he keeps asking for more. And they are the perfect project for using a yarn which would otherwise be too much or too bright.

  34. amy 2 October 2009 at 4:03 pm #

    socks are the perfect project! I can take them along when I’m sitting in a waiting room for an appointment, or halftime at my son’s football game.

    you generally only need 1 skein, which makes this a reasonably low cost project. and for me, it’s close to instant gratification – maybe a week from start to finish!

    and then there’s the feeling when you put handknit socks on your feet….

    time to knit: 1 week
    cost to knit: $20 bucks
    the feeling when you put them on…. priceless

    ’nuff said.

  35. Rebekah E. 2 October 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    I am just learning to knit socks and love it. Right now I am knitting thigh-high lace stockings. I can’t wait to finish one of them so I can try it on and see how it looks.

  36. Knittingdancer (Ravelry) 2 October 2009 at 4:17 pm #

    Socks are the perfect take along knit project. I love sock yarn.

  37. sherry in idaho 2 October 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    These are lovely. I wear only handknit socks and my podiatrist is jealous. I also never go to a doctor’s office without a pair of socks on the needles for the long waits. One doctor saw me knitting and told me that, since I was knitting in his office, he should get some socks.

  38. ikkinlala 2 October 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    I love wearing handknit socks because they fit my feet better than most of the socks I could buy.

    Thank you for sharing all your sock patterns – I’m definitely looking forward to knitting some of them!

  39. thatgrrl 2 October 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    I love knitting socks because I can try out all sorts of stitches and cables and lace patterns and whatnot in a small project that’s NOT a scarf!

  40. Emily Sappenfield 2 October 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    I wear my combat boots year round, and except for one beloved (and sadly untraceable) pair of commercial socks I find the worsted-weight handknits provide the best comfort. Since I started dyeing I’ve knitted more socks as it’s the perfect size for a small dye project. I might have to see about modifying “Center Line” for heavier weight yarn…

  41. Sharon Rose 2 October 2009 at 4:41 pm #

    Holy cow I just found you! Amazing! I grabbed a bunch – my husband will like the Court Lines. I love making him kilt hose because a) he really appreciates them, and b) anything I can do to encourage more wearing of the kilt is a bonus. :)

  42. demophobe 2 October 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Hand knit socks are pure spoilage for my feet. It’s like wearing slippers all day, even when I’m at work. I also love the endless design possibilities.

  43. Lisa 2 October 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Thanks for sharing! I started knitting specifically to knit socks. They’re portable, and unable to be boring. There’s an incredible variety of patterns, and even with the pattern, there’s always the change ot the heel, the foot, etc. to keep me interested. Plus, for a $10-20 skein of yarn, it keeps me busy for hours. Much better investment than going out to a movie!

  44. LostChyld 2 October 2009 at 4:53 pm #

    I knit socks because I love the look on muggle’s faces when I mention that I’m wearing socks that I made. And because they’re fun, and portable, and there’s so many different techniques, and you get start over and make the second one better than the first, and lime green socks are more awesome than white socks, so are socks of every other color, and handknit socks are way more comfortable than retail socks, and wearing them gives me an excuse to wear cute shoes, because I have to show them off. and… and… and… Muggles think I’m talented when I pull out in progress sock that resembles a porcupine with dpn’s sticking out all over the place.

    I can’t really think of a reason to not like knitting socks.

  45. Shawn 2 October 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    I just finished my second pair of socks (the first that actually fit!), and I’m already 1/3 of the way through a third pair (for my gramma). I love that it looks so complicated and impressive, but in the end, you’re just knitting round and round and round, and then you’re done. Sure, there’s some fancy stuff with the heel and the toe….

    And the best part is if you want to use a complicated stitch pattern, it just seems 100x more impressive and beautiful on such a delicate scale.

  46. Jen 2 October 2009 at 6:32 pm #

    I really, really love sock yarns. They are so pretty and soft and lovely, and it’s a joy to knit with them. Also, I can custom fit socks to my extremely wacky feet that don’t fit properly into storebought socks (they would be Women’s size 8.5 if they didn’t have a circumference of 11 freaking inches).

    Jen (zgma on Ravelry)

  47. ananamoose 2 October 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    I love to knit socks because they are so portable and relatively easy to do any time and anywhere. :)

  48. Becca 2 October 2009 at 8:12 pm #

    Hmm, I think I can blame my desire to continue knitting on socks; I learnt how to knit so I could make some scarves for friends and quit after making them. Then I saw some sock patterns & experienced a desire to try this knitting thing again…

    Socks, how do I love thee socks? Enough that I have to have a couple of drawers devoted to them alone. Learning to knit socks to add to my sad, sad of store bought sock collection seemed like a perfectly good idea so with that goal in mind, I took classes to learn more than basic knitting & purling. Which turned into socks. Which turned into classes on different types of socks. Which turned into more socks. Which turned into classes on lace. Which turned into lace stoles weirdly enough… But always socks, socks get the pretty Go Knit bag. Socks get the nicer kneedles. Socks get shown off to everyone. Would you like to see my socks?

    Now to design socks? That’s the next goal ’cause I just don’t have enough socks.

    Ok, honestly I’m not that weird though I do really like unique socks. I blame it on having to dress conservatively at work so I use socks as my way of being different. Being able to knit socks seemed like a fun way to add to my collection!

  49. Fernanda 2 October 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    Socks I knit always fit me. You can spend for some nice yarn since it’s a small project. Can’t get enough.

  50. patsy coats 2 October 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    I love socks, I have to wear them everyday. Can’t wear shoes without them.

  51. Jen 2 October 2009 at 11:34 pm #

    I love knitting socks (but I sometimes wish I didn’t – It makes it hard to find time for knitting anything else). It’s great to end up with socks that don’t fall off the ends of you toes, keep your whole body warm, and make me happy when I look down and see them

  52. sarah 3 October 2009 at 3:44 am #

    i just learned how to knit socks and they’re my new favorite thing to make! i love making socks that really fit me instead of being slightly too big like storebought socks are! i just got some hand dyed yarn to make two new pairs and i can’t wait to make them!
    thanks!

Comments are closed.

