week six, the ultimate friday giveaway bonanza

9 Oct

dscn0025

Break out the champagne, it’s the Ultimate Super Giveaway Championships of eXtreme Awesomesauce Finale! Yes, today is the last giveaway of our Friday Giveaway Bonanza, a one-day contest series, to celebrate the completion of our Year of Socks!

DSC00091a

We’re giving away a project bag, a notions purse, buttons, Moth Banishment sachets, other stuff we have yet to decide on and a skein of the awesome yarn custom-dyed for our final LYOS sock, Dawn of the Dead, by the ever-fabulous Nimu, yay!

curled_edited

For your chance to win your own ginormous parcel of Loummsy delights, just leave your comment below, before midnight tonight, on how much you love socks, knitting them, wearing them, designing them! We will announce the Ultimate Sock-Lovin’ winner on Sunday, so stay tuned!

Good luck!

64 Responses to “week six, the ultimate friday giveaway bonanza”

  1. Sarah35 9 October 2009 at 8:53 am #

    Dawn of the dead – hmm how my daughter would love me to knit those for her! A teeneage dream come true. For my part I just love to try new patterns and this one is definately one out of my normal colour range, a challenge is ‘afoot’ I feel!

  2. Noelani 9 October 2009 at 9:01 am #

    I recently decided I’d learn socks and learn cabling (but seperately). I’ve only been knitting about 6 months, it’s great fun and I think I feel a sock addiction coming on. I started with baby socks, which was easy, I’ll be starting adult socks within the week, I just have to finish this cabled hat first. The sock pattern I want to try has a reputation for difficulty, so wish me luck!

  3. Tricia 9 October 2009 at 9:09 am #

    Love knitting socks, just not very good at finishing them! Which would be why I have about 20 pairs in progress, sigh. Including some of Emmm’s Masonic Lodge socks, but I will finish those because they’re a Christmas present. Congratulations on finishing your Year of Socks and on Edwardian Boating Socks being made the STR KAL pattern.

  4. Heather-Joy 9 October 2009 at 9:38 am #

    Wow! Socks to die for, mittens to kill for what more could a knitter want? (A few lace scarves or shawls?) Sadly leaving knitter’s heaven to go to mundane, tedious and far from creative work……I’ll be back.

  5. scottishbunny2003 9 October 2009 at 9:43 am #

    Thanks so much for sharing on Rav!

    I’ve just started knitting socks – with 4 kids, small, easily transportable projects are an absolute must – but ornaments aren’t really my style. Thankfully, I joined Rav and discovered the joys of sock-knitting (I live a very sheltered knitting life up til now, where the only locally available LYS’s pstock patterns for toys or cardigans :() With the cold winter days drawing in here, there’s nothing better than snuggling up with hand-knitted socks on my feet. Even the ones that end up far too big are fine – felt them or wear them in bed. Everything, even the failures, gets used!

  6. beautifulsigh 9 October 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I just frogged a pair of socks (too tight), and a scarf (only had a few rows done… am writing a pattern), and will be frogging a cowl next (the beads I ordered three months ago still haven’t come in so I need to redo it with something else) but will be starting the socks back up soon! (I’d like for them to be done for Rhinebeck… pfft)
    I love wearing hand knit socks. I love to be able to show them off. I love that if I’m having a bad day, I can just wiggle my toes and feel the coziness of the yarn and know that even though my job stinks, I’m still a talented knitter!

  7. Tiffany 9 October 2009 at 9:44 am #

    I just started knitting socks a few months ago. I have acctually only finished one sock on my first pair but I can tell already that I love it. I absolutly love the millions of different kinds of sock yarn. They are so beautiful and create amazing looking socks. I also looove the different designs out there. Lace, cables, ribbing, you name it you can find a pattern for socks. And the fact that they are so portable. Eventually when i get the hang of it, plain socks will be something I won’t need a pattern for, but so small I can bring anywhere. I can’t wait to put my first finished pair on my feet!

  8. Heide 9 October 2009 at 10:00 am #

    I love knitting socks because they are so portable and also, I that they are so appreciated by my family when gifted. Custom made socks – just for them. They love it!

    also, everyone knows skeins of sock yarns tucked away here and there doesn’t count towards one’s stash :-)

    Hooray for socks!

  9. Laura 9 October 2009 at 10:03 am #

    It probably wouldn’d be fair for me to enter again but that is a whole load of awesomeness that you’re giving away! I definitely love your new design and the colourway is perfect for it!

  10. katie 9 October 2009 at 10:11 am #

    I looove your ravatar. Your mustache is hottt ;) Sock knitting is the most addictive. I love colour and texture in my socks. I dont care if no one else sees them, I do, and I am in love with all of them <3

  11. Sade 9 October 2009 at 10:19 am #

    The giveaway is so generous. I love wearing hand knitted socks, because all I have are knitted by my mother. I don’t seem to be patient enough to knit socks. So I get warm comfy socks and something that reminds me of my mom!

  12. Malin 9 October 2009 at 10:25 am #

    I love knitting socks because they are small and portable and fun. You can get away with colours you might not want to use for a sweater :-) I love wearing handknit woolly socks because they are infinitely more cosy and comfortable than storebought cotton things.

  13. Amy 9 October 2009 at 10:47 am #

    Those gloves are beautiful!

  14. Meg McG 9 October 2009 at 10:56 am #

    I love the whole process of socks. Buying the yarn, choosing the pattern, knitting them , wearing them or giving them away. Love it all!

  15. mulene 9 October 2009 at 10:59 am #

    Socks just rule. Small projects that are a veritiable palette of awesomeness. You can play with so many stitch patterns, make em short or long, or even just as little footsie covers. If you are really daring you can make em as long as stockings and as sexy as hell! I love them so much, there is nothing like the feel of a hand made sock, made to measure. No more slouching of heels down the bottom of feet, no more crushed toes in ones that are a touch too tight.

    They can be bright and zany or dark and moody, stripey, pooly or plain. Whatever they are, however they look, they just rule.

  16. amy 9 October 2009 at 11:10 am #

    socks are the perfect project – you can take them anywhere.
    they’re fairly quick, so you aren’t knitting for months and months before you have a finished project.

    and the feeling when you put them on – you can’t buy that at walmart!

  17. Sandy 9 October 2009 at 11:30 am #

    I love socks so much that I knit 53 pair between June 1, 2008 and May 31, 2009! Socks are awesome!

  18. heather 9 October 2009 at 11:40 am #

    Ooooh, The Joye of Sockes! (Er, sorry, channeling Nanny Ogg for a moment, there, thinking of Snackes.) You know, Windows 7 has a World Turtle, which startled me a bit. Anyhow, socks are blissful things that keep my hands occupied and then keep my feet warm, assuming that someone doesn’t steal them. Which happens a lot, you know.

  19. Melanie 9 October 2009 at 11:46 am #

    That is one generous giveaway! :)
    I’ve been knitting for 20+ years and never ever knitted a pair of socks, but what I am seeing here might just be the push I needed. So inspiring! I know what I’m going to make for my sister’s Christmas now! :)

  20. Ivy 9 October 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Thank you for such a fantastic giveaway! I couldn’t resist it. Good luck & happy knitting vibes to you all!

  21. Shannon H. 9 October 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Ooooh. Fabulous socks! I love the colorway for the yarn.

  22. oonagh rabenwald 9 October 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    must……start…….knitting…….socks!!!

    awesome stuff, beautiful pics!!

  23. MJ 9 October 2009 at 12:34 pm #

    Wow! What a wonderful “ginormous” giveaway. Love to knit socks, just don’t always have time; though I do keep at least one pair going in a project bag that I can just grab and go if I think there’s even a chance I’ll have 2 minutes to knit. Have loads of sock yarn just waiting to be knit into beautiful socks.

  24. Bowen 9 October 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    I must knit dawn of the dead socks!!!! Seriously socks are the awesomesauce of knitting.

  25. jmknitster aka joanie 9 October 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    Well, i guess its time to come out of the shadows and leave a comment–how appropriate Dawn of the Dead this time of year–Just put up my decor for Halloween!
    As foro designing does leaving off the leg portion of a sock so you can get it done faster count! Or doing just the leg cause you want to wear it as a cuff to show all your friends the coolness of your knitting?!

    Thanks good luck to all–Fun reading too!

  26. leesy 9 October 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    I love knitting socks, and I almost never even wear them; I just knit them for everyone around me. You can never have enough sock yarn. Never.

  27. Rosanne 9 October 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    I love the designs you’ve created. The whimsy alone is worth a second look.

  28. Mizzle 9 October 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    I came her from Ravelry because someone said ‘contest’, but I’m no longer sure I can enter…

    I enjoy knitting socks, but those gloves in the very first picture, oh my! I’d never wear them, but I’d sure love to knit those!

    Which is actually also the story of the pair of socks I enjoyed knitting most… I was knitting Bettie’s Lace Stockings (from Interweave), proudly showing them to my sisters and my mom… only to be told ‘you’re not going to actually wear those, are you? surely not with a skirt?’

    :(

    I loved knitting them, but since I’m not ‘allowed’ to wear them, I never actually wove in the ends…

  29. Linda (roxyrana on ravelry) 9 October 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    all my fellow knitters at our local stitch’n’bitch group are sock knitters and I am really inspired by their wonderful and varied socks,….don’t get me started on all the amazing yarns used !!! their addiction is beginning to infect me and I feel ready to plunge into the deep pool of happy sock addiction. :)

  30. Katie 9 October 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    I love knitting, and socks are one of my favorite things to do. The gloves at the top of the page are remarkable. Love love love.

  31. Tracy 9 October 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    Oooooh… those socks are awesome! The colors are perfect! : )

    I was told not so long ago that I must learn to knit socks if I want to be a true knitter… that yarn makes me want to learn!!

  32. Becca 9 October 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    These socks are amazing and I’m glad that you are as prepared for the Zombie-opcalypse as I am though it appears that you are more prepared as you have socks to wear for the event & I don’t. Hmmm, I think I must remedy this situation ASAP.

    Reasons I love socks:
    – All the fun patterns
    – The pretty awesome hand dyed sock yarns (yes, I know there are lots of other weights that are done this way, I just tend to notice the sock ones first. It’s a talent, I think. Or me being stupid. One or the other… )
    – The portability! I can easily bring a sock to work on everywhere! Boring waiting times are a thing of the past.
    – I can complete a pair of socks fairly quickly which works great for me as I’m not known for my patience.
    – They make my foot look awesome and keep them warm. :)

  33. Nicole 9 October 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    I love knitting socks for lots of reasons. They’re quick, easy to take along for car knitting and you have a complete project from a single skein of yarn. I have two little boys (just turned 4 and almost 2), and since socks are small, when I need to quickly set them aside it’s easy to find my place when I pick them back up.

  34. Sandra 9 October 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    Congratulations on a job well done; that’s a grand accomplishment! Unfortunately, I am a sock knitting eejit. The one sock I’ve knit would have been lovely had Hagar only one foot, yet that one sock would have fit him beautifully -wry grin-.
    One of my goals, before I die, is to learn how to knit socks. As much as I love wearing socks, surely God in His mercy, will grant that small request.
    I’ve a pair of handknit socks, gift of a girl friend six hours away, and love, love, love wearing them. Hand knit socks are the Ultimate Cool and nothing, Nothing, beats the WOW factor better than hand knit socks. Plus they are a terrific small project that’s easily transported and worked.

  35. Carrie 9 October 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    Ah socks, let me tell you why I love thee:

    Knitted socks make fabulous gifts. They are beautiful. I love wearing them because they keep my feet cozy and warm come winter. Socks travel easily in my bag so I can knit them everywhere. Turning the heel on a sock is a little miracle. Yes, I know how it works, but you are knitting one way and then “hey presto” you are knitting at a right angle to how you were just knitting. Socks are just amazing.

  36. Sharon Rose 9 October 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    I’m suddenly addicted to socks because I love doing complicated lace & cables, but I don’t like shawls and don’t want to make sweaters until I lose more weight. Socks are portable and will fit me no what happens with my size! :)

  37. Leona 9 October 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    My love for knitting socks has been a long one. Almost always have them on my needles ( do allow myself to be working on more than one project at a time) They are so easy to carry and you never know when you might have to wait for someone or something. Last year, I decided to knit socks for all on my Christmas list, after 32 pair, I am still knitting them!! Seems that there is always a new yarn or colourway that needs to be a pair of socks……..

  38. Rebekah E. 9 October 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    Socks are so much fun to make, I just love them. I love all of the designs you can put in them. You can make them femine and frilly or very masculine. There are so many to choose from, my sock drawer is always over flowing.

  39. Brooke 9 October 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Awesome new pattern! :)

    There are too many reasons to list why I love knitting socks, but I think my favourite is this: it’s like having your feet wrapped in love and caring, and I think that’s pretty special.

    You guys are brilliant!

  40. TAOJ 9 October 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Socks are an addiction and we should have a nice comfy pair of handknit ones for everyday ;)

  41. hedgehogmj 9 October 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    So much socky loveliness for all! I’m working on socks for all for Christmas.

  42. Cyd 9 October 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    I love those zombie socks. You two have really done a wonderful and amazing job with your Year of Socks – I bow down to your sockiness!

    I am so addicted to sock knitting, even though I am slow, slow, slow. Great portable projects, great for trying new things without a huge commitment, and a great justification for buying sock yarn.

  43. sockmonkery 9 October 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    I love knitting socks because the are portable and you get to use some of the prettiest most fun yarn! I’m addicted to collecting new free sock patterns on Ravelry and now have selection of probably 200 to chose from….;)

  44. CheerfulMuse 9 October 2009 at 4:07 pm #

    Love learning how to make socks. Have yet to finish any though =D Learning to knit and how to knit socks at the same time is rather difficult, I must say XD

  45. Dragon 9 October 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    Holy cow! You guys are amazing. That’s all I’ve got for you: “You guys are amazing.”

    I’m up for a giveaway. :)

  46. Irina 9 October 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    love the dawn of the dead sock/yarn. they’ll go well with my zombie hat

  47. brokeknits 9 October 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    Sock knitting is fabulous because it is not only portable, but the perfect study break. Portability and relaxation rolled into one! And they might protect you come the zombie apocalypse. Always good.

  48. Carrie 9 October 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    I love knitting socks as they are a quick and portable project. I am still fascinated with the structure as I am going along and quite often just stop to admire the way the heel has appeared. I just wish I had more time to knit all the socks I love :)

  49. Debi 9 October 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Sock Knitting, I love knitting socks for my daughter. She works in a job that is all men, she being the only female. I love how in that man’s world she loves having her mom made socks on. Kinda like a hug all day from her mom. I love that idea.

  50. thatgrrl 9 October 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    Seems like socks that I knit myself don’t mysteriously disappear like store-bought socks do. Guess the washer has a taste for over-processed mass-produced clothing…

  51. Elliecat 9 October 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    I havent’t knitted socks yet but I’ve just been given some DPNs so maybe that will motivate me to learn!

  52. Christine from Canada 9 October 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    Bonanza indeed! A cornucopia of sock knitting delights just in time for Canadian Thanksgiving celebrated on Monday.
    Loves me socks – fab to knit, fab to wear. Your feet are being massaged and pampered all day long when wearing special hand knit socks.
    Thanks for this contest. You ROCK!

  53. sarah 9 October 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    i like doing socks because socks are easy, just round and round in basic rib or stockinette (okay, i’m a beginner sock knitter). socks are my latest addiction – they’re becoming like hats to me!

  54. Kate 9 October 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    I HATE knitting socks, but that doesn’t stop me spending hours surfing Ravelry and the web for more patterns … it’s a compulsion I tell ya!

    Of course the biggest problem with knitting socks is that I won’t wear them once they’re finished … after all, I might spoil them … is it only MY shoes that tend to leak black dye all over my sockies? Or is it maybe only shop-bought socks that this happens to, surely my shoes recognise the quality of and the care gone into handknitted socks and wouldn’t dare sully them with so much as a hint of dye. Then the other big problem *sigh* is that so many patterns are charted. I am chart-blind. Or chart-lazy, not quite sure which.

    Then of course the next problem is exactly which of my skeins of deliciously yummy sock yarn shall I use … and can I really be ars*d to wind it all into a ball …

    Nonetheless, I think Aethenoth (cool pattern!) might well be accompanying me on a 3.5 hour train journey to Stansted next week, followed by a 1.5 hour flight to Germany and beyond …

  55. Christine 9 October 2009 at 7:08 pm #

    Today I am wearing a brand new, freshly finished pair of socks I knit over the last month and I’m 100% sure that they’re contributing to the wonderful day I’ve had.

  56. Virginia 9 October 2009 at 7:40 pm #

    I like this contest, I hope i win. that stuff looks amazing!

  57. Jen 9 October 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    I have handknit socks on now and they’ve kept me toasty warm all day. What more can you say…

  58. Abbie 9 October 2009 at 8:33 pm #

    Socks are the total freaking business! Plus, knitting them looks so dangerous – all those tiny pointy sticks threatening to stab a fool in every direction.

  59. ikkinlala 9 October 2009 at 8:44 pm #

    I love socks so much that all my dpns are in use for them right now.

  60. Fernanda 9 October 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    Just love the portability of socks! The perfect size project for my attention and budget.

  61. Knittingdancer (Ravelry) 9 October 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    I love socks. Your contests have really been great.

  62. Tunie 9 October 2009 at 11:26 pm #

    I love learning new techniques on small projects and the chance to play with many yarns. Socks make great gifts and of course can be custom fit. Also, meeting special friends through sock knitting has enriched my life tremendously. Hooray for sock knitting!

  63. Gina 10 October 2009 at 2:34 am #

    This is all I’m gonna say…..I once told a man that knitting socks for someone is the closest thing you could come to having sex with them without actually having sex. They are just that important.

  64. Dee Trube 10 October 2009 at 2:56 am #

    love pics of your socks. Enjoy knitting socks – and wearing and seeing others knitting socks. (have not designed (unless you call modifications made designing)
    Your giveaways sound great would love to win.
    thanks for offering them. Smiles

Comments are closed.

