kitchen garden tip tuesday 1

17 Nov

Even though I’ve been a little hopeless at updating lately, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing posts. I’ve been writing heaps of them. They’ve just all been in my head, and until we as a species master telepathy, that’s not really very useful.

So, I’ve decided to inaugurate a new Weekly Thing. As perhaps evidenced by the Year of Socks, I’m good with schedules and deadlines, even if I have a tendency to rail against them when they are being imposed by other people. Herewith, the very first Official Kitchen Garden Tip Tuesday:

Kitchen:

Add boullion powder before the water. When you’re using boullion powder as the base of your soup stock, sprinkle it over the started ingredients (onions, garlic, ginger) just before you add the rest of your ingredients instead of dissolving it in water. Stir it in and let it infuse for anywhere from 2-12 minutes, as the rest of the ingredients become tender, then add the water and bring it all to the boil. I find this method allows the  boullion to better draw out the flavours of the main feature of the soup (in today’s case, a gorgeous acorn squash — nom!).

Garden:

Water herbs at the base. If you’ve ever noticed how some herbs seem to wilt after you water them, try approaching them from the base of their stalk rather than from above. This works especially with those with more delicate leaves, like coriander and dill, which don’t like getting their leaves wet. (As soon as I started doing this my coriander began to flourish.)

One Response to “kitchen garden tip tuesday 1”

  1. Sally 19 November 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    Hey girls,

    Just wanted to say thanks for the great service and gorgeous sock bag I bought from you this week. I love it!

    Will be giving you a rave review on my blog :)

Leave a Reply

