birdy button box bag

7 Feb

So, my search for fabric boxes began yesterday as I really need to tidy up my corner of fabric, buttons and yarn scraps!

I have been looking on Folksy and Etsy — strangely Folksy has no fabric boxes at all, or maybe I am looking in the totally wrong place! I did find a few on Etsy which are just gorgeous! Amazing fabric, good sizes and well-made by the looks of it.

This one made by momfetti has to be my favourite, but unfortunately as it is being shipped from Amsterdam the shipping is quite high.

Storage Bin, Medium With Handles
This one from aprilhov is also amazing, such great fabric choice and a really good size, but the seller doesn’t ship to the UK!
Medium basket - birds
Back again to the search and I stumbled across these upcycled nesting bags by serendipity blue which look really sturdy.
Upcycled Upholstery Fabric Nesting Baskets - Blue Delight
Getting back on track for what I am looking for the polka dotty lining on this box by henryandzoestudio, along with the handles, looks almost perfect.
Yellow Canary Large Square Fabric Bucket

However, none of them have lids! Why is this??

I woke up today feeling a bit disheartened about not being able to find a suitable storage box to store my button collection so I decided to make my own!

I used the template Emmms and I use to make our sock-perfect project bags but used a stronger interfacing and different technique to add the lining. The reason I have folded the top of the bag down is because I was an idiot and made the lid the same size as the box! Wish I had a brain sometimes!! Maybe this is the reason why all the boxes I saw are lid-less! Anyway after folding down the top the lid fit a lot better but it still isn’t right! It definitely needs handles to pick it up. This I will hopefully do tomorrow!

Not bad for the first attempt at box making, the buttons look great inside and it has sure tidied up the shelf a bit, but I think I may still be on the lookout for a more professionally made one!

3 Responses to “birdy button box bag”

  1. emmms 8 February 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    That looks awesome! What a fab idea. I love the lid and I LOVE the green lining with the pretty, pretty birds.

  2. loutheperson 8 February 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Just filled it will all our buttons and I have had to unroll the top as it is totally full!!! gonna have to make more!

  3. emmms 8 February 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    Yay!!!! Take pictures of it with buttons! How big it is? Maybe we should convert the stash-perfect bags to stash-perfect box bags?!

Leave a Reply

