red pepper and chilli hummus

30 Apr

Recently I have been getting a real craving for hummus and my favourite type is red pepper. So putting my new blender to the test (it crushes ice btw, I am thinking mojitos!) I decided to whip some up.

To give it a bit of a kick I have also added one red chilli but you can always make it without.

ingredients

410g tin of chickpeas

2 cloves of garlic

1.5 teaspoons of light tahini

2 large tablespoons of greek yoghurt

1 red pepper

1 red chilli

the juice of a lemon

4 tablespoons olive oil

salt and black pepper to taste

olive oil and cayenne pepper to garnish

method

Drain the chickpeas, reserving the liquid, roughly chop and de-seed the peppers and chilli, peel the garlic.

Add all of the ingredients to the blender with 5 tablespoons of the chickpea water and blend until smooth.

Sprinkle with cayenne pepper and a drizzle of olive oil to serve.

This hummus is great with a crispy salad, crunchy veg and some couscous for a lovely summery lunch! I like to add chicken or minted lamb kebabs to mine too!!

2 Responses to “red pepper and chilli hummus”

  1. emmms 30 April 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    This looks awesome!! I’m so going to have to make some this weekend. Yum! (Also, really dig the use of tulips in the picture, it makes the pepper dusting pop beautifully!)

  2. Michael Beyer 25 October 2010 at 2:12 am #

    I love red peppers in hummus too! I thought I would share this recipe I developed for a roasted red pepper hummus.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/roasted-red-pepper-hummus/

Leave a Reply

