very scilly stuff, pt. 3 scilly socks

1 May

Just down the road from where we were staying on St Mary’s, the largest island of the Isles of Scilly, is a collection of artists’ studios. This isn’t unusual in itself, as Scilly is full of artists’ studios. It’s apparently a great place to be an artist. However, what made these particular studios particularly interesting to me was a sign bearing the name Scilly Socks.

With a name like that I couldn’t very well not investigate, and I’m so glad I did! Walking into Susan Seddon’s studio-cum-shop front is like walking into Santa’s workshop.

There are rows and rows of beautiful, carefully hand-crafted slipper socks, with elfin tips and coconut-button clasps.

Each pair is hand-knitted by Susan herself and vibrant  lined with multi-coloured hand-dyed merino tops.

Unfortunately, there is no website for Scilly Socks, but Susan does a fine trade via mail order and she’s given me permission to include her email address should anyone out suddenly find their feet are a bit chilly.

Also a painter, Susan shares her space with her sister, a fellow artist who makes incredible, huge felt stones. I really wish I’d taken some pictures of them, too, but I was too taken with the socks to think of that at the time!

7 Responses to “very scilly stuff, pt. 3 scilly socks”

  1. Mike Rowe 6 May 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    I bought a pair for my self the week after Easter 2010.
    Their really lovely .

  2. Beth 7 May 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Have seen these at a craft/produce fair on Scilly and thought they looked brilliant! So many gorgeous colourways.

  3. emmms 7 May 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    The combination of such vibrant colourways and rich fibres is awesome. I love that she’s thrummed slippers! It’s such a great idea.

  4. Lyndsey 29 May 2010 at 2:25 am #

    Yay Mummy! Keep it up x

  5. Geraldine 22 August 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I love my pair – they are so comfy and just fabulous! Everybody should have a pair!!

  6. Eve Worrall 12 June 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    I’ve been trying to get hold of Susan at Scilly Socks, do you have her email address? I brought a headband from her and it’s fantastic!

  7. Susan Seddon 13 December 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    Susan can be contacted at susan.becker@hotmail.co.uk for orders for Scilly Socks Headbands and Hats .

Leave a Reply

