sewing up for summer!

6 May

One of the best things about having a sewing machine and some basic (and I do mean basic!) sewing skills is once the weather gets warmer you can start sewing up those fab summer dresses and shorts!!

_mg_9003_s_1_large

Sabrina Dress

_mg_6511_large

Ruby Shorts

_mg_3047_large

I had a dabble in this practice last year with great success, I made the dress I wore for my birthday, Fatima, my woolen sleveless shift dress for those smart summer evenings, and I put together a yellow cotton embroidered (or will be once it is done!) picnic dress.

Picnic Dress

Birthday Dress

This desire to sew summer dresses began when I spied the fantastic Sabrina dress on Burda Style last year. I did start making Sabrina but unfortunatly made it too small to fit, however from it I learnt to design my own patterns, a skill I put to the test on the other dresses I made.

So when I opened my inbox yesterday and the new Burda Stlye Newsletter was waiting for me with Sabrina on the front page the desire returned!

This year I am not only going to finish the picnic dress, but am also going to make a Sabrina that fits, a pair of the Ruby Shorts and the Kasia Skirt!!!! A lot to take on a agree but once the summer months come along and the days get longer Ill have to have something to do with all of that extra time!!!

3 Responses to “sewing up for summer!”

  1. emmms 6 May 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    I love you in that birthday dress!!! It’s one of my very favourite pieces to be stitched on your sewing machine! Aside from the fact it’s gorgeous, it’s also a perfect colour/print for you. Love!

  2. Curvalicious 11 May 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    I really like your birthday dress :) Did you make it from stretch polyester?

  3. loutheperson 11 May 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    It is a stretch cotton, pretty hard to work with but such a great fabric to wear. I picked it up from the cut-offs bin in my local fabric store, I fell in love with it instantly!!!
    Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

