introducing purple percy!

17 May

Last week was a pretty big week for me, not only did I take my first driving test, but I passed and also bought my first car!!!

I was in shock for a few days I think, but now I just can’t believe that I have left it this long to learn to drive! It was never a huge thing for me before, but at the beginning of the year I decided that it was now or never so off I went on my lessons.

Most people my age by now would have about 10 years driving experience, so to help me catch up I went straight out looking for a little car. I knew I wanted a small engine and I knew it needed to be cheap so when I spotted a little purple Metro in the garage I fell in love immediately!

Purple Percy is a 1996 Rover Metro and he drives perfectly, no power steering so I have a lot of people laughing at me when I am trying to get in and out of parking spaces, but that’s all part of the fun right???

Anyway, after getting Purple Percy home, I knew he needed some little loving touches, so off I went to the fabric shop and picked up some fantastic purple fabrics!

I bought some gingham, polka dots and flowers all in the best purple ever, and got to sewing. First I made some pillows and stuffed them with hollowfill fibre, them made the cushion covers to go with them! The lavender sachet is just a small bag with a button and some yarn attached stuffed with lavender and rosemary!

Now Percy has two cushions for the back seat and also a hanging lavender sachet to keep him smelling sweet!

9 Responses to “introducing purple percy!”

  1. emmms 17 May 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    Too cute!! Those pillows are such a great idea and the lavender sachet is awesome! Have you hung it from your rearview mirror?!

  2. Ruth 17 May 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Congrats on passing your test!!! I have started driving again, I was terrified of getting behind the wheel in this country after getting my license in Spain!

    I think Percy is very well accessorised, wouldn’t expect it any other way!

  3. Carrie (Crochet-y-Knitter) 17 May 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Congratulations! Fab car and cushions :)

  4. loutheperson 17 May 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Thanks Ruth!! I am thinking about adding seat covers too!

  5. Roobeedoo 18 May 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Aw bless! You don’t see many purple cars around do you? Accessories are absolutely essential! When I got my first car I was going to knit a blankie for the back seat but I never got past the first square – sewing is definitely the way to go!

  6. Sharon 5 June 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Well done – what a great feeling! Which garage did you buy Percy from? I’m also on the lookout for a car but SE London mainly seems out of budget. :(

  7. loutheperson 7 June 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Hey sharon, I got him from A1 Van and Truck Hire on the old kent road, there are a couple of places in Brockley too! Good luck car hunting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. knitting and stitching show – part 1 « loumms - 10 October 2010

    […] Oct Yesterday me and emmms took a trip in Purple Percy (my car) up to Alexandra Palace and the Knitting and Stitching Show […]

  2. bye bye Purple Percy!! « loumms - 10 February 2011

    […] my little car has finally given […]

Leave a Reply

