teeny tiny head

9 Jun

It’s been an awkward time in the garden of late. Due to the late frosts, it wasn’t really until late April that I began even seriously thinking about it. Since then, the weather has been totally up and down, which means my poor little veggies don’t know if they’re coming or going. It seems to be at least becoming somewhat consistent in its inconsistency in any case!

The air is warm, but there’s not heaps of sun; the rains (until this week) have been infrequent, but heavy. All this means that my root veg and most of what might be considered winter veg are doing OK, but the more summery foods are pretty behind on where they were this time last year. That said, it makes discovering real signs of life hugely exciting. Because, Houston, we have cauliflower!

And strawberry…

And carrot…

And (finally!) signs of tomato.

I’ve been really worrying about my tomatoes, but in the past week they have finally started flowering, hurrah! I’ve got my fingers crossed that come July we’ll actually start seeing something resembling a bit of a bountiful garden!

6 Responses to “teeny tiny head”

  1. Ruth 9 June 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    We have strawberries too! We rescued a small strawberry plant that was not where the patch was and is thriving in her new home. We call her Susie. :) I think tomatoes are next on our list!

  2. Roobeedoo 9 June 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    I only got round to sowing courgette seeds at the weekend. The chances of a crop seem remote! Very impressed by your cauliflower!

  3. canarysanctuary 9 June 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    How exciting! I love to see plants grow. :)

  4. walterknitty 10 June 2010 at 12:57 am #

    My dear, you and I are about in the same place. Until last Friday, it rained for 20 days in a row. I’m not kidding. No, it didnt rain all day, every day, but it’s the 9th and we’re already above our average rainfall for June. It rained more yesterday and today. One of my tomatoes looks okay but the other looks pretty sad. The kale is happy, but that’s about it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not everything is knitting, you know…. | Rock & Purl - 10 June 2010

    […] This post was inspired by Emms from Loumms. […]

  2.  | Rock & Purl - 10 June 2010

    […] Este post fue inspirado por Emms de Loumms. […]

Leave a Reply

