of thai and obatzda

17 Jun

The flight may have been nearly an hour delayed, but by no means did that effect my journey: I got to knit! The whole plane ride! I’ve been so busy with trying to get everything ready to go before I left, in terms of thesis, freelancing and Loummsing all, that I’ve done almost no knitting at all for ages. In fact, I think the last time I did any knitting at all was last week when I met up with Knitpippa, blogless Kate and the Bittersweetie herself at the Harrison in King’s Cross. For shame, I say! For shame.

So, an hour delayed for some, an hour extra knitting time for others. Time well spent, if you ask me.

Zanna’s other best friend, Gillian, flew in yesterday morning, so she was well settled by the time I arrived with Zanna (who, lovely thing, picked me up from the airport). We went straight for some Thai food – tofu and stir-fried veg for me, prawns in a coconut curry for them – and then out to a very sweet Spanish wine bar.

I know, not very German of us at all.

We made up for it today: we wandered all over München, gazed appreciatively at impressive Teutonic architecture, hiked along most of the south side of the Iser to the English Garden, where we sat in a biergarten, watched the football, drank tankards of Bavarian beer and ate massive fresh-baked pretzels. We also had some obatzda, which is a delicious Bavarian beer garden special eaten using chunks of pretzel as scoops. Yum! So taking that recipe home with me.

Tomorrow? Oh yes, my friends. It’s Wollmeise time.

7 Responses to “of thai and obatzda”

  1. Kate 17 June 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I went to the English Gardens and ate giant pretzels too, now I’m hungry for pretzels, I like the saltiness. Have an amazing time at WM, can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. loutheperson 17 June 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Sounds like a great day!! You are so lucky the way you get away with carring your knitting!!
    Happy Wollmeisering tomorrow, I cant wait to see what you pick up!!!

  3. Giselle 18 June 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Oh my goodness: Obatzda! Haven’t heard of that in ages. Can’t get more Bavarian than that!
    Wollmeise: so jealous! Have fun.

  4. pip 20 June 2010 at 1:17 am #

    you’ve got a knitpippa… is that not me?!

  5. Cathy-Cate 2 July 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    Emmms! CathyCake from the VLT catching up on blogs after getting back from my trip to (dum dum da dum ) GERMANY, and I realize we were in the same country at the same time! Granted, opposite ends….I was in Berlin when you were in the south (I was in Bavaria and Munich earlier in my trip, having been in Germany from June 4 to June 18th).

    Well, a retrospective wave from up north, and a bit of a jell.us. for the WM (we were with a tour group for the majority of the trip, so no side jaunts to Pfaffenhoffen, unfortunately). By the time we were on our own, we were a long way away and not near the shop opening dates. Some time, maybe! It was a fun trip.

  6. emmms 2 July 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    No way! Man, that would have been so cool. Next time we’ll have to warn each other BEFORE we go on holiday so we can coordinate!

    I’ve never been to Berlin but I am dying to! Is it as awesome as I’ve heard? (Actually, Lou could answer this with an emphatic yes, but she’s clearly biased as she wants to move there!!)

  7. Cathy-Cate 25 July 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    I thought Berlin was amazing. Very vibrant and energetic, and with all the rebuilding since reunification, a funky blend of old and new. I’m probably a little biased also, because that’s where we got to slip our leash from the tour and just roam around on our own — we walked all over Berlin. But it was lots of fun, and I want to go back. Plus, I swear half the performing artists I want to see were coming there this year, judging by the posters that were up….evidently the place to be.

    Yes, we’ll have to plan better next time! (I didn’t think I knew anyone in the places I was going to be in Germany! I didn’t enquire about visitors.) What’s funny is that not only were you there overlapping with my visit, but Sheri, the owner of The Loopy Ewe, one of my favorite online yarn stores (and whom I’ve met a couple times in person), was there too….she was also in Pfaffenhofen much of the time! Clearly I planned this wrong.

Leave a Reply

