perfect birthday lunch

22 Jun

My love just made me the most perfect birthday lunch, American Style Home-made Pancakes with crispy bacon, scrambled eggs and maple syrup served with a cool glass of prosecco!!!!

She used the recipe by Nigella Lawson but made giant ones instead of blini size and unfortunatly I didnt get to photograph the wonderous pile of sickly sweet goodness as as soon as it was placed infront of me I began to gobble it up!!! Sorry!!

As I am still not mobile enough to venture out dancing or even to the pub I decided there was no better way to over indulge on my 29th birthday!!

The op went well thankfully and my hernia is no more which is great news, I just now need to rest up and make sure I dont distrupt the gauze they put over the gap or I will be straight back in there for more surgery.

This unfortunatly means no gardening, swimming or excerting myself in any shape or form for 6 weeks!! That sound like a hell of a long time especially for a person like me but as I have been out of action anyway for the past month due to the hernia pain and sciatica problems I am getting a bit used to it now!! Cue a lot of knitting!!!

I am now fascinated by the art of surgery, to be able to do what they did using such small holes ( I had Keyhole Surgery) is just amazing. Not only did they get a piece of gauze, I think measuring 3 inches by 3 inches through a hole the size of a pea they also found another problem I didnt even know I had. Apparentley I had a lot of scar tissue around my abdomen, which they called adhesions to the abdominal wall,  ( I have no idea what from) which was sticking to my insides. They unstuck it all but after I woke from the operation I was in agonising pain and consumed so much morphine that they had to admit me overnight! Not a problem really as I was in so much pain I prefered to be there anyway!!

It is now all over and I am on the mend. Hopefully I will be more and more active as the days go by and I can begin to get more active in my loummsy ventures as I have missed it terribly. Not being able to do much creative stuff, cook, sew or get out into the garden has been pretty soul destroying for me and because of that my input to this here blog has suffered. However this is the turning point and after a few more days of rest I am sure you will here a lot more from me!!!!

Anyway, time to get back to the prosecco and my lovely little picnic chair with a solid back and arms which is waiting for me in my very untidy but very sunny garden!!

4 Responses to “perfect birthday lunch”

  1. Kate 22 June 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    What a lovely day! The 6 weeks will fly by and then you’ll be back to normal in no time. Glad to hear everything went well. x

  2. emmms 22 June 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    You’re alive!!!! Happy birthday, Lou! I’m glad you got a chance to indulge a little — we’ll have to have a party at the end of July when you’re fully healed.

    Really glad to hear it all went well (after a fashion, you don’t do things by halves…)! xxxx

  3. Ruth 23 June 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Happy belated birthday! I am glad the op went well and you’re all mended now!

  4. pip 25 June 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    mmm… sounds like my kind of brunch ;)… might just go and look at the recipe for a sat mornin treat:)

Leave a Reply

