garden fairy

28 Jun

I have to admit that being able to sit in the garden, knitting in the sunshine all day, is fabulous!! Knowing that I can’t and shouldn’t do anything else is just a dream come true and I thought it would be a nightmare!!! What a fool I was!!!

Anyway, although this new found sense of relaxation is just great, the state my garden is in isn’t, and the more I looked at it the more I desired to get stuck in to all of the jobs that need doing. So I set out on an internet-based quest for a gardener who could come and give it a good weed and tidy it up. My quest was futile as every gardener that I emailed didn’t reply to me.

I got chatting to my next-door neighbour (the one with the gorgeous well-kept garden) and told her about my problem. She immediately, without hesitation said, ‘I’ll do it!’ I couldn’t believe my ears as that was so not what I was getting at! Anyway she came round on saturday afternoon and weeded and snipped my entire garden. It now looks just divine!!

Not only did she do all of the weeding, she also re-planted my strawberries in the old veggie patch from last year and also pointed out to me that through all of the weeds I had failed to notice that I had  mint, poppies and violets growing!!! No way!!!

strawberries

violet

poppy

mint

She also left in a giant daisy and some other things but we will have to wait and see just what they are as neither of us were totally sure!!!

daisy

Not only have I now got a tidy garden, I also have three new plants to watch grow!!! She really is a perfect garden fairy.

Nature can be cruel though as, even though she came round and did all of that gardening, the Jasmine she planted in her garden is still only flowering in mine!

jasmine

My tomato plants are loving the sunshine along with Chilomena and the strawberries. My pepper, however, is still growing a bit slow but should catch up soon with a bit of luck!!

tomato

Chilimena

pepper

If anyone has any tips on how to look after lavender I would greatly appreciate them as mine just won’t seem to grow!!!!

poor lavender

I still now can’t believe how nice it was of her to come and tidy the garden, so I better get on with thinking of something to knit her to say thanks!!!

6 Responses to “garden fairy”

  1. blueadt 29 June 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Lavenders need FULL sunshine & don’t like damp, is yours in a shady position?

  2. loutheperson 29 June 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    thanks blueadt but no, and its pretty dry too! Agh! I am thinking i might dig it up and put it in a pot when I can. What you think??

  3. walterknitty 29 June 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Does your soil have good drainage? If not, that might be your problem. Lavender likes to be a little dry and if it’s roots get too wet they can start to rot. If your lavender is in full sun and is fairly dry and still looks like it’s about to keel over, transplanting it into a pot may just finish it off. You can try it, the most it can do is die. Lavender is easy to come by here in the States. If it is in London, you may want to start over.

  4. loutheperson 30 June 2010 at 12:27 am #

    thanks walterknitty, I have the lavander in the soil in the border of my garden. Since I have watered it a little bit it is perking probably a bit of a final show if what you guys are saying is anything to go by!! I think I will leave it a few more weeks then when I am able transplant it to a pot and hope for the best, but again like you said, it is pretty easy to come by and I could just get a new plant and try agaiin!!!!
    Thakns!!

  5. Rose Gold 6 July 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    The best thing to do is to have a compost soil! Compost soil is more fertile and have an uneven particles. Uneven particles in the soil create better air spaces and give the roots better anchors to attach themselves to. You should also check the soil’s pH if it falls to 6.5 to 7.5. if the soil is too acidic the lavender will not thrive.

  6. Crystal Swan 12 July 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Its good you have a good neighbor who brought back your garden to life. She is a rare breed.

Leave a Reply

