audio favourites

22 Jul

I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts and downloadable radio lately, mostly because I’ve been doing a lot of sewing and cycling! I don’t what it says about me, but I get antsy if I can’t listen to something as I’m doing something else. It makes me feel extra productive — not only am I getting from Point A to Point B, turning UFO into FO, but I’m catching up on the world at large, too!

These are definitely some of my favourites:

  • The Knitmore Girls. Love them! Gigi is such an amazing font of knowledge and I love Jasmine’s passion for the community. I got Louisa hooked on them, too.
  • The Food Programme. I wish this was more than once a week. Sheila Dillon and her team of researchers have covered everything from marmalade to food bloggers; the Newcastle EAT! Festival to the Belfast Food Revolution. It’s fascinating, unmissable stuff.
  • Radiolab. Combines my love of audio artistry and curiosity about the world that surrounds. Plus, it’s like they choose their topics by going through the dictionary blindfolded. ‘Right, so this season we’re investigating… Placebos. Silence. Lobsters. And tumors. Lovely.’ It is lovely.
  • Craftlit. I’ve been listening to Craftlit in real-time since chapters 9 and 10 of Pride and Prejudice and it really does just keep getting better. Since I started teaching first-years at uni, I’ve totally been listening back to episodes on Frankenstein, because Heather’s teaching style is something to aspire to.
  • The Dinner Party Download. Short and sweet, you get jokes, ice-breakers, snippets of history, food reviews and a cocktail. Perfect!
  • Woman’s Hour. I’m not sure if I’m late to the scene on this or it’s a sign of my age, but man I love this show. It’s so political and interesting and engaged. It’s a lot of preaching to the converted, really, but good all-embracing feminist airtime is all too rare in my opinion.

I’m sensing a pattern in my listening habits: craft, food, commentary pretty well sums it up!

What’s everyone else listening to? Leave a comment so I can listen, too!!

3 Responses to “audio favourites”

  1. Heather 22 July 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Oooooh! I LOVE your list of ‘casts! I’m in amazing company up there but mostly your post just make me want to find time to go share a cuppa and chat with your cool eclectic self!
    Will you be meeting up with us at iKnit this October?
    Heather

  2. walterknitty 22 July 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    I love RadioLab, I think it’s my favourite podcast. My favourite episode so far has been Parasites.

  3. pip 23 July 2010 at 11:57 am #

    … what a great list… thanks:)
    .. don’t have any to add sorry, as up until this point ;), I haven’t listened to many

Leave a Reply

