in the calm

28 Jul

My very favourite thing about out studio is the busy silence it steeps in first thing in the morning. Busy because we’re on the 3rd floor and all the other floors are alive with people. Silent because up on the 3rd floor there’s only me.

My old flatmate in uni was a fine arts student and would stay up working all night, crash and wake up around 3 in the afternoon. It would appear the artists we share this space with still create along this schedule. Which is lovely, for me, because it means I can get in first thing and make a heap of noise and clatter about, or concentrate deeply on the finer details. It means I can play The Bugle’s opening bray at full volume without worrying I’m disturbing anyone, and that opening bray really must be played at full volume to experience the intended effect.

Lou and I have been working feverishly on a (semi-)Top Secret Super Project and, barring 12 buttons, it is DONE. Done like the proverbial dinner. We’ll finally be able to blog about it in the next couple of days.

And speaking of the next couple of days: it’s Knit Nation time!! I cannot wait for this. I’ve blocked off my schedule for pretty much the whole event. I’ll be at the Marketplace with La and Shaz Thursday evening, volunteering and in class Friday and scouting new yarny finds with Lou Saturday. Who else is going?

2 Responses to “in the calm”

  1. Kate 28 July 2010 at 10:25 am #

    I’ll be there, obviously. I’m in a class all day Sat but I’ll try and find you and Lou at lunchtime to say hello and get all excited about buttons and yarn :)

  2. pip 28 July 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    sadly i won’t be there… but looking forward to reading about it on your blog (that is… if you decide to blog about it ;)

Leave a Reply

