for the love of socks

24 Aug

My main knitting project for the past couple of weeks has been a delicate snood for my mam for her birthday (photos to come as don’t want to ruin it for her!)

As I have been designing it at the same time and have mainly been working on it at work, it is taking a while. It’s her birthday tomorrow and I have about another 3 inches to go!! Agh, probably not going to be ready in time!

I am really enjoying it and the yarn, 2-ply alpaca/silk/cashmere in lun-dubh by Old Maiden Aunt, is just divine — so soft and fine yet strong! It is a perfect shawl lace weight; however, I cannot fail to admit that I miss socks!

I know I did my sister a pair for the baby, but it’s just not the same as a really good sock pattern that you can really sink your teeth into, so I have been pining over a few delicious sock pattern on Ravelry to try to curb my desire long enough to get the snood finished!!!

Here are a few of my current favourites:

Francie by Rebekkah Kerner

I have had this particular sock in my favourites for a while now but just have not had the time to get it onto the needles. The detail on the sole gives it such a rare quality and that mixed with the simple ribbing adds up to an interesting but easy knit!!

Frankensock by Star Athena

I spotted these yesterday in a sock search and just love their originality. The red stitching over the toe and down the back of the leg gives such great contrast and adds to the feel that they are ‘parts sewn together’!

Lakeside by Julia Vaconsin

Nothing beats a good pair of knee-high socks and these are so pretty, they really do make me want to sit by the lake!

Bex by Cookie A

No sock pattern wish list would be complete without a Cookie A and there are so many to choose from. Bex is my current favourite and as I was given the book Sock Innovation for my birthday and now own the perfect yarn for them (the British merino from Sparkleduck) I have no excuse not to get on with the knit!!

Heart Strings by Emma Haigh

I don’t mean to be biased but these socks by our own Emmms are just fab, the story that goes with them is equally fab, and I just love the medical edge — viens and blood appeal to me! I am also very keen to try out the Welsh heel!

I must admit that I do feel better now, a bit of sock love always works!!!

Keep an eye out for some new sock patterns from me and Emmms coming very soon!!!

3 Responses to “for the love of socks”

  1. pip 24 August 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    I love the Francie!! … and the pretty knee-highs :)

  2. Inga 25 August 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I love Francie too and can’t wait for new patterns from loumms!!

  3. Ruth 25 August 2010 at 11:11 am #

    I’ve made Lakeside – addictive!!!!

Leave a Reply

