stashed

7 Sep

With the IKnit Weekender only a few days away one might think I’d be able to resist the temptation to bring home new yarns until after I saw what the market place had to offer. The yarniverse, apparently, sees things differently.

Last week, Lou and I set up shop at Del’Aziz, Bankside, with Pippa for a showcase of her fantastic new yarn, Sweet Clement (shop soon to open!) as well as some of our bags. It was huge fun and heaps of people showed up to ogle the yarns and get better aquainted with some Loummsy goodness. Like fools (fools!) we were so caught up in having a fab time, we didn’t take any pictures of the display — fools! It looked awesome! We arranged all our wares and Pippa’s yarns so that they seemed to be tumbling forth from each other. And I have to say, Pippa’s yarns made our bags look good.

In any case, what I lacked in foresight then, I can make up now. I came away with two fanfreakingtastic skeins of super-saturated Sweet Clement merino, in Mallard and Blackcurrant.

I couldn’t wait to get stuck into Mallard and have already been sketching out a new pattern, a cably affair with a smattering of lace clocks down the side. I love it! The colour is perfect for cables, while the cables really highlight Pippa’s colour sense.

Then a couple days ago, I succumbed to Loop (I swear, I was just going in to have a look…) and left clutching two gorgeous skeins of Shilasdair‘s luxury 4-ply cashmere, angora and lambswool blend in Autumn Moor.

Be still my heart, but that yarn is delectable. I know exactly what I’m doing with this yarn. It’s far too decadent to be used as everyday socks, but a pair of softy slouching bedsocks for midwinter? Ah yes.

4 Responses to “stashed”

  1. Kristen 7 September 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Colors! Beautiful, beautiful colors! That is some lovely stash.

  2. emmms 7 September 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Aren’t they gorgeous! I’m completely besotted with all of them.

  3. pip 7 September 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    … I just love the new pattern in Pippa’s Mallard :)

  4. Tikabelle 7 September 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Ooo, pretty! Nice taste in yarn. Also, I love the name Pippa. It’s so veddy, veddy English. :D

Leave a Reply

