knitting iceland

20 Nov

With only a couple of weeks left until the next issue comes out, I figured it really was about time I posted about KThe Icelandic Knitter. I can’t quite remember now how I stumbled upon it, but it is such a cool magazine. The first issue came out in September of this year and it’s chocked with fantastic articles, gorgeous patterns and AWESOME photography.  From my first glimpse of the front page, I was hooked:

Once inside, the articles on Iceland’s knitting tradition and Loops, a yarn craft festival held this year in Reykjavík, were enough to keep me captured before diving into the patterns. My favourites by far are the Rósavettlingar mittens

the Peysufatapeysa jumper, modelled in the first picture, and, in keeping with my sudden yearning for Fair Isle, the gorgeous Brynja cardi.

Jenny and Nicole from Stash and Burn once mused over those books and magazines that make you want to live inside them as much as knit anything in them, and this magazine is EXACLTY that. I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland. (My friend Anya and I became very slightly obsessed with  Naal’s Saga when we were 16. We used to create operatic renditions of it in made-up Danish and run around the back field of our high school in winter pretending we had just discovered Iceland. Lame, I know, but the desire to go has never left me.)

This magazine makes me want to live there, be an Icelandic knitter and tend to my Lopi. I can’t wait to see what’s in the next issue!

One Response to “knitting iceland”

  1. travelknitter 20 November 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    Thanks so much for the link – it looks gorgeous. I went to Reykjavic about six years ago and loved the place – it has such an atmosphere about it. Sadly I went in the days before I had started knitting, so it was a wasted opportunity from a yarn standpoint.

Leave a Reply

