a few of my favourite things

30 Nov

It seems like this year, far more than other years,

cold + dark mornings + early dusk = me sleeping all.the.time

I can’t even get up in the mornings, which is a bit of a shame as that’s when I get my best work done.

Instead, I sleep past 7.30 on the days I don’t have to be anywhere. And then in the evenings, instead of sitting at my sewing machine and churning out a few bags or aprons, I come home from a hard day of editing* or good studenting** and collapse on the sofa, knit a few rounds and fall asleep to podcasts of NPR.

* or today, typesetting an adorable children’s book in InDesign.
** I’ve turned into the department’s resident squatter, moving from empty office to empty office as soon as anyone’s back is turned.

Fortunately, I’ve recently started rediscovering a few things that are worth staying up for:

  1. Fat Quarter. I’ve probably mentioned this online magazine here before, because it is the awesome. It’s political, smart, funny, feminist AND crafty. It’s like Bust, but based in the UK.
  2. Toad-in-the-Hole. It’s one of the few meat-based dishes I’ve never been able to properly replicate — until now! This recipe is for Yorkshire Pud, and it works PERFECTLY as Toad batter. NOM!
  3. Decoding Gender in Science Fiction. I know, I know, it’s not my subject, but this book by Brian Attebery is fantastic! It’s well up there with Intrigue: Espionage and Culture by Allan Hepburn for taking genres and their theories to a whole new level.
  4. The Perfect Christmas Jumper. Lou and I both bought this at Ally Pally from Susan herself and while I haven’t cast on yet, I’ve been obsessing over what yarn to use for weeks (I’m thinking either teal and gold or forest green and acid pink). It might just be that a trip to Loop is in order.
  5. This American Life. Seriously, I cannot get over how much I love Ira Glass. I won’t go out Monday evenings now, just so I can sit at home and knit to his dulcet tones.

OK, so that isn’t really the reason why I don’t go to Monday night knitting — that, unfortunately, has everything to do with working Mondays, being too shattered to go out again once I get home, and needing to be in good form Thesis Tuesdays.

But this lot really have given me some much needed respite from everything else I’ve got on. It says a lot about my current state of being that things that make me think are the things that make me feel like the world’s problems just slip away!

One Response to “a few of my favourite things”

  1. pip 30 November 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    thanks for the ‘fat quarter’ link :) … and sleeping after 7:30 really is ok, in fact great!

Leave a Reply

