adventures in wedding dress shopping

25 Feb

Last week, as we sipped our way through a complimentary bottle of fizz for hiring our wedding venue, Matthew and I suddenly realised that not only are we getting married but we’re doing so in less than four months’ time. Eep! We still have heaps to do (we haven’t even ordered our invites!), but this week I was able to cross off one of the moat important items on the ever-growing list: I found my dress!

Saturday morning Louisa and I headed off to south Clapham to keep an appointment for me to try on a dress at a small vintage dealer. It was gorgeous if not exactly what I was looking for, and not in stellar condition. That goodness for Best Gal Louisa and her eagle eyes! In any case, the owner told us about another shop just up the road in Fulham and recommended we go there, too. So we headed to Circa Vintage. Call it fate, call it kismet, call it anything you like, the first dress I pulled off the rack, the first dress I tried on was perfect.

I know it’s silly but the second I stepped into it there was a connection. Something about the comfortable weight of the damask silk, the smooth pale dove grey-blue, the delicate gold and silver threading, the exquisite texture… It was love at first touch. Marianne, the owner, found an underskirt for me and pinned the dress into shape and I shivered, literally quivered with delight, as I saw how it would look. It’s a couture gown, a 1950s original piece, with a full skirt and snug bodice. It has thick straps but I think I’m going to have those removed.

Come Tuesday I couldn’t stop thinking about it, so Wednesday morning I called to tell Marianne how much I loved it. That afternoon, I received a harried call from her saying someone wanted to buy it. They were in the shop, I could hear them in the background as she told me she didn’t want me to rush into anything but she needed an answer. I knew I couldn’t let them have it. And so now it is mine. My own perfect vintage wedding dress.

The only sad thing is that my other Best Gal, Susanna, couldn’t be there, too. I’d have loved having both her and Lou with me. But Germany isn’t nearly as close as it should be, so we’ll have to wait to squee over it together for another couple of weeks when she gets here (for her brother’s wedding) and we three go shopping for them!

In the meantime, dress found it’s all about finding a suit for Matthew! (And shoes, and a headpiece, and sourcing stuff for decorations, and finding a photographer… And ordering those invitations!)

5 Responses to “adventures in wedding dress shopping”

  1. Kate 25 February 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    SO glad you got it!

  2. Alyss 25 February 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    It sounds perfect!

    I can recommend a few photographers, if you like

  3. Laura 25 February 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Btw, that last comment from ‘Alyss’ was me…damm autofill!

  4. Laura 25 February 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Ok, not quite sure what happened to my other comment…was saying that I think your dress sounds perfect and that I’m sure you’re going to look lovely in it.

    If you need photographer recommendations, I know a few down south

  5. Camille 25 February 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Oh my gosh, it sounds like the most gorgeous dress EVER! Congratulations!! Can’t wait to see it. xoxox

Leave a Reply

