garden diary

25 Mar

Fourth week of March
25/03/11

I sat in the garden this morning in the blazing sunshine planning my next step!
Whilst smoking and drinking coffee I mapped out in my head how I want to proceed with the mess that is the back of the garden.

At the moment there is two large half dead shoots (practically trees in their own right) from the large tree, a hell of a lot of live and dead ivy, an old Xmas tree, some wooden planks and chunks of concrete.
What I would like there is some lovely paving to put the BBQ and general summer goodies on.

I am going with paving mainly to give the cats less soil to do their business on and because there is a hugh chunk of paving left over from when I did the garden all those years ago that I will never ever be strong enough to move, and I certainly don’t want to give myself another hernia by trying!!

As I want to keep the costs down, my ongoing job is to source some second hand paving for free from somewhere, any advice??

The rest of the future plans include:
•Cutting back the tree
•taking the old Xmas tree, concrete and planks to the tip
•re levelling the back section
•cutting out the two unwanted trees
•tackling the ivy
•re digging the hole for the wood that holds in the pebbles

I began the final job this afternoon at 12.10pm knowing fine well I have to leave for work at 12.25, that is the reason there are no photos for today’s post, maybe tomorrow!!!

3 Responses to “garden diary”

  1. blueadt 25 March 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Are you a member of your local Freecycle?

    My group regular features pavers both wanted & offered. It’s a good way of shifting stuff as well.

    Could you use the planks to make some raised beds? Or else off them on Freecycle?

  2. Joyce 25 March 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Yes, I was going to suggest Freecycle too! As for the two half dead trees, maybe you could slice up, varnish them and turn them into plates or cake stands? Providing they haven’t rotted away inside, of course. Good luck with it all!

  3. Loutheperson 27 March 2011 at 1:38 am #

    Thanks, great ideas!!
    I am a member of freecycle so am checking obsessively every day waiting to snap some up! I also found out that gum tree was also a good place to look. I am hopefully getting a heap of plants from a freecycler tomorrow so I’ll keep you posted!
    About the planks, they are unfortunately totally rotten and not suitable to use for Vege beds as the rotten wood can damage the soil. When I originally did the garden the raised bed I have was sourced from the only suitable planks I had back there, the rest was just put back out of my own lazyness!!
    Unfortunatly I can’t see the actual tree stump due to all the ivy but if it is big enough that’s an awesome idea, even if it is a bit too small for plates I could do coasters!

Leave a Reply

