teeny socks for teeny feet

9 Apr

image

Last month I found myself on a baby sock making mission lately. Or maybe a baby sock making frenzy. Whatever it was, I knit nearly 6 pairs over one weekend using Lou’s awesome Knee High Socks for Little Long Legs and Little Pea patterns.

I love how easily adaptable baby socks are. It’s the same as adult socks, of course, but with baby socks I just feel like I’m being extra clever if I work out how to add a bit of interest. I think it’s because there’s so few stitches. To make a pattern work you have to be so careful not to screw it up.

For these socks I’ve been using a gorgeous skein of Autumn House Farm sock weight that I scored in a swap years ago and some rather decadent Wollmeise in a rich sloshing wine cellar colourway that does not like to be photographed!

image

It’s a good thing I enjoy them so much. Two of my friends have had babies in the last nine weeks and there are another two on the way. That’s a lot of teeny feet in need of teeny socks.

Leave a Reply

