wedding lamp #2

1 Aug

I spent this weekend at a lovely wedding up in Blackpool.
A friend who I’ve known since she was born was married in a local church and had her Candy themed (candy theme seems vvv popular this year!) family party in the church hall next door.

For dinner we ate fish and chips from a local van and ice cream cones for desert! Such a great idea!
I Ceilied my night away after enjoying a belly dance performance!

The whole weekend was lovely.

Anyway, my gift to the couple was a knitted lamp shade and 60’s style glass lamp.

20110802-013933.jpg

I’ve really taken to this lamp shade knitting, after designing and knitting our own Emmms one for her wedding, (hurry up with the photos of that!) I decided this was going to be what I would do for everyone I loved on their wedding day.

This particular one proved harder as I didn’t receive the lamp until I was already half way through the knitting!

I guessed my gauge (risky I know) and began with the decoration for the top of the shade, a cabled pleaty twist.

20110802-014254.jpg

I really wanted to do a maze pattern for the main fabric but time wasn’t on my side so a simple yo, k2tog knit up pretty quick.

Thankfully it fit perfectly and after knitting some little green balls to hang off the bottom it was complete!

20110802-014440.jpg

My knitted lamp was not the only hand made part of this wedding.

The place mats were sewn by the brides mother, they decorated the whole hall themselves

20110802-015030.jpg

and the bride herself made her own wedding cake!!

It was a very impressive ‘wonky wedding cake adorned with colourful flowers.
Just amazing!!

20110802-014845.jpg

Congratulations Charlotte and John

4 Responses to “wedding lamp #2”

  1. emmms 2 August 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    That’s amazing!!! Lou, seriously, you have to start working out the patterns! They’re too cool! I love the balls (bobbles? Pompoms? How did you make them?!) and the pleaty ruffle at the top is adorable!! Great colour choices as always!

  2. loumms 2 August 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Fanks!!
    Im not gonna write the patterns out, they are too special and it’s hard unless you have the exact lamp shade size.
    I’m gonna make them and sell the actual lamps!!
    OMG!

  3. mary 3 August 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Amazing!!! I love it and I am very jealous that Emms has one! ;-)

  4. missc247 3 August 2011 at 7:58 am #

    Simply Gorgeous well done!

Leave a Reply

