the knitting finishing goddess

12 Aug

Anyone who knows me also knows that I hate sewing up my larger knitted garments.

It is strange considering how much I love actual sewing but sewing up the seams of say a sweater always fills me with dread!
I finish my knitting, block my knitting then sit there looking at the pieces of fabric hoping they will just magically join together.

I think it’s mainly because I’m not very good at it. I always lose where I am, I get impatient with the fabric, I try to do it right but I always end up with a seam that looks like a 4 year old has sewn it!

I do plan to take a class in finishing at some point but I’m always too late whenever I spot one and they are often booked up. Does this mean that others have the same problem???

For the meantime until I get myself into a class I will be using this fab little machine.

20110812-101957.jpg

It was given to me by a work friend who is aware of my woes of knitting sewing (she often sews things for me!)

Its about 25 years old, has no brand name and my friend can’t remember where she got it so I’m very interested if anyone can shed some light on the history of these things!

I’ve searched the web and can’t seem to find anything about it or if there are modern versions available (which I’m sure there must be!)

You place your two pieces of knitted fabric together, insert them into the little pins around the edge,

20110812-102121.jpg

thread the needle with your yarn

20110812-102210.jpg

and turn the wheel.

20110812-102246.jpg

The magic machine does the hard work for you!!

I can wait to put it to use so will be starting a new sweater next week knowing that I will be sewing seams with ease!!

2 Responses to “the knitting finishing goddess”

  1. Juliet 17 October 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    I used to have a knitting machine and bought one of these at the same time from a knitting machine shop in Burton on Trent. I gave it away about 25 years ago!! Of course, my memory may not be what it was, and I may have purchased it at the knitting shop near Moira, though I believe it closed down many years ago. It was on the corner of a crossroads with a large shoe shop on the opposite corner of the crossroads. Happy days, I loved my knitting machine, but as the children got bigger I had less time to knit; I think I passed it along to a friend’s husband who lived in Donisthorpe at the time. This obviously doesn’t help you to find another one, but who knows, it may have been the same machine!

  2. Juliet 17 October 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    I would be interested to know if this was of any help.

Leave a Reply

