winter woolies

20 Sep

I’ve been working on this set of cosy mitts, funky hat and toasty leg warmers for a while now. Still can’t come up with a name for them so winter woolies has to do for now!

20110920-110805.jpg

It has certainly felt strange knitting winter woolies when I’m still trying to believe it is summer however it really has got me in the mood for a cosy winter!

I’m being a bit premature there I guess as we still have a lovely London autumn to look forward too!

Anyway, the new patterns originated from a cable chart I modified a few months back which I’m obsessed with!
It looks like a logical cable from afar but up close you see that things don’t follow the pattern you believe they would. A few twists and turns takes the cables into a great labyrinth!

Agh that’s their name!!! Labyrinth! Knew it would come to me!!!

20110920-110907.jpg

So yep, ‘Labyrinth’ started as a design for a thigh high sock however after a few problems with the yarn (see future post) I couldn’t face knitting the entire sock with it. After one repeat of the chart I gave up, joined the two sides together and made a hat!
The rest is history!!
To go with the hat I’ve done mitts using the same chart and to complete the set is a pair of very high leg warmers and all with the option of adding buttons!!!!

Perfect for the winter months!

20110920-111015.jpg

I’m still working on the leg warmers but will be getting the whole set test knit ASAP!!

4 Responses to “winter woolies”

  1. Jasmine Gartner 21 September 2011 at 8:23 am #

    Do you need a test knitter for the mitts? jx

  2. emmms 21 September 2011 at 9:18 am #

    They look fab!! I love the geometric, solid button detail against the softness of the fabric (which even the delicious cables can’t shake — am I alone in thinking cables sometimes make things look sculpted rather than structured? — in any case, love the cables in that soft, soft yarn!).

  3. Rebecca Christie 26 September 2011 at 11:56 am #

    love the color…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. yarn problems and solutions « loumms - 27 September 2011

    […] my last post I mentioned having a few problems with the yarn I’m using for my new Labyrinth […]

Leave a Reply

