yarn problems and solutions

27 Sep

In my last post I mentioned having a few problems with the yarn I’m using for my new Labyrinth patterns.

The base yarn is a 4ply, 10% cashmere, 10% baby alpaca, 40% angora, 40% lambswool blend and it is gorgeously dyed in cochineal natural dye, so soft and squishy with a beautiful tone.

20110927-151730.jpg

It was a bit frustrating at first as I really really liked the yarn, however I pretty much immediately encountered quite un knittable issues.

Despite the problems, the yarn had all the qualities we like in our yarn, UK sourced, UK based, natural on all accounts so I was torn with what to do.

20110927-151811.jpg

So I contacted the company and was met with the nicest, most helpful customer service from the yarn dyer.

Almost immediately she apologised, explained they have had a few problems with the particular yarn and offered to send me the equivalent of what I originally purchased from a different batch.

Turns out this batch is pretty perfect!!

20110927-151849.jpg

Looks like they got over the little hitch and I’m so happy as I really wanted to use them not only for the recommended yarn choice for the project but for others in the future.

5 Responses to “yarn problems and solutions”

  1. Chris 27 September 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    So glad the company was able to work with you to fix the problem. That yarn blend sounds scrumptious!
    I’m curious if you had to return the previous yarn, or if you kept it…if the latter, what are your plans for the older yarn? Stash? Giveaway?

    Looking forward to seeing the new designs!

  2. loumms 27 September 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Yeah they were so good!

    I kept the original skeins and they were used to design the new Labyrinth patterns!

  3. loumms 27 September 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    There are a couple of pics on the previous post if you want to have a look. Winter woolies.

  4. Roobeedoo 28 September 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I have used that yarn in the undyed variety and it is SO soft…though I did suspect there was some human hair caught into the spin which was slightly… um… disconcerting!

  5. Chris 29 September 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

