Bo Peep revival and new pattern edition

18 Oct

It turns out that there is a bit of a revival of our Loumms Year of Socks pattern, Bo Peep!!

This pattern was originally released in April 2009 as a special part of our Year of Socks and there are now quite a few Bo Peeps floating around Ravelry.

In the past few weeks we have been contacted by many people showing an interest in these lacy gloves so I thought Id take the opportunity to edit the pattern properly to make life easier for everyone!

      

All the links have now been updated to the new PDF copy but just in case I missed one I’ve noted on the pattern that it is a 2nd edition.

Hopefully all of the errata has been included and brand new ‘Bo Peeps’ will be popping up everywhere with minimal fuss!!! I might even knit myself my third pair!

                   

             

So you can now download the new edition of Bo Peep here and also on Ravelry soon.

 (pictures taken from Ravelry)

9 Responses to “Bo Peep revival and new pattern edition”

  1. Mary Otavka 18 February 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Question on bo peep fingerless lace gloves….when you cast on the second 4 stitches..after keyhole… and devide the 48 stithes among 3 needled… which is your #1 needle…?? is it the start of the first 4 cast on or 2nd…. Mary Otavka

  2. loumms 18 February 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Hi Mary,
    Sorry I thought I’d sent you the errata link for the 2nd edition.
    You can find it here https://loumms.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/errata-for-bo-peep-updated-pattern-18-10-11/
    Hope this helps

  3. Mary Otavka 22 February 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Thank you for your help… I did get it this time.. Mary Otavka

  4. Jen 20 March 2013 at 7:10 am #

    I feel very dumb because I still don’t get it how you count the needles. I have read the old instructions as well as the new ones trying to figure out how you’ve done it before and how you’re doing it now, and the errata doesn’t explain it. I’ve been knitting the left hand glove and I join at the top of the keyhole in the beginning of the round 2 (or at the end of the flat round 1) and have the first 16 sts on my #1 needle (palm side being #2 and the thumb side the third). According to your reversed thumb set up you count differently and the question is how do you share the stitches between needles, how do you count the needles and where do you start a new round? The pattern is coming nicely and I could do the left hand like you’re supposed to do the right hand, but I’m really curious about this.

  5. loumms 20 March 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Hi Jen,
    It’s not dumb at all!

    The thumb set up is able to be worked wherever you want your thumb to sit.

    If you think the thumb should be set up using the stitches you have on needle three then follow the established pattern to where you think the thumb sits for you and knit your 8 stitches using your scrap yarn, transfer them back to the respective needle and then knit back over them using the working yarn and continue the pattern.
    Hope this helps!

  6. Jen 20 March 2013 at 11:55 am #

    Thanks for the answer, it just didn’t help figuring out how YOU do the counting, because using my counting method and your thumb instructions means that the left thumb is on the wrong side of my hand and the right one on the back side of my hand. As mentioned earlier it is possible to place the thumb wherever I want but if I do that, I have problems with getting the fingers right…. I even started knitting the right glove but the problem remains. I’ve been thinking that joining in the round means “normal” round knitting and also the beginning of counting rounds and needles but it seems that’s not the case here. I’d like to follow the instructions but at the moment I’m stuck. Is it the reversed thing that I’m somehow missing?

  7. loumms 20 March 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    Hi again,
    I’m going to re-knit the pattern as its been a long time since I’ve looked at it so bear with me and I’ll get back to you with the correct information.
    I think previously the instructions given were taken as a guide and the fingers and thumb were knit where required.
    I appreciate your notes so will look to changing them on the errata page as soon as I’ve knit up a new pair.
    Thanks again!

  8. loumms 20 March 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Hi Jen.

    I start the round at the centre of the keyhole with 16 sts on each needle.

    The first 2 sets of 8 rows are worked.

    Right Hand: (following left hand as written in edition 2, see errata)

    there are 12 sts worked so the thumb sits on the last 4 sts of needle 1 and the first 4 sts of needle 2.

    Right hand: (following left hand as written in edition 2, see errata)

    there are 12 sts worked so the thumb sits on the last 4 sts of needle 1 and the first 4 sts of needle 2.

    **Left hand: (following right hand as written in edition 2, see errata)

    work to the last 4 sts of needle 2 then work the thumb set up over the final four sts on needle 2 and the first four sts of needle 3.
    Continue the round in established pattern. **

    Next round will be round 2 of the lace.

    This means ignoring the notes section regarding the right hand thumb being worked on round 8 of the second repeat.

    The fingers should read

    ***First Round: k 32 sts ***
    Not
    First Round: k all sts

    This should clear things up and I’ll get the pattern changed as soon as possible.

    Thanks again

  9. loumms 20 March 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Hi Jen,
    Just to let you know I’ve edited the Pattern to include the new errata so you can find Bo Peeo Edition Three here https://loumms.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/bo-peep-edition-three/
    Hope this has helped
    Louisa

Leave a Reply

