Mrs Beeton’s musings

2 Nov

I’m planning to make some spicy tomato chutney with the remaining tomatoes I have left over from the garden so was looking through a few books on my shelf to read a bit more about filling and storing the jars.

I was interested in what Mrs Beaton had to say on the subject and how they were stored in the past

20111102-160209.jpg

(turns out there is not much written on this in her book) however, whilst flicking through the pages I came across a particular chapter called ‘Invalid Cookery – a few rules to be observed when cooking for invalids’

It really tickled me as Ive recently been feeling pretty sorry for myself, suffering from Sinusitis and chest infection, wishing I had my own nurse maid to hand me soup and tissues!!
So I thought I would share what I read.

She obviously makes a lot of sense however it is highly amusing.

The following points are my favourite’s

1:

20111101-185521.jpg
2:

20111101-185853.jpg
3:(discussing Miss Nightingale’s views on the subject)

20111101-190011.jpg
4:

20111102-160056.jpg

All taken from Mrs Beaton’s Household Management.

2 Responses to “Mrs Beeton’s musings”

  1. Tikabelle 3 November 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Well, that does it. No more spoiled food for MY patients! And all this time I thought they weren’t getting any better because of germs and childbed fever…

    I’ve been holed up in my apartment for 3 days, and I think I am beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Get better soon!

  2. loumms 4 November 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Thanks, you too!

Leave a Reply

