red and green tomato chutney – with a hint of chilli

7 Nov

I got so many tomatoes from my crop this year as even though the snails had got to them I was still left with a huge heap of both red and green ones that I just knew chutney was the way to go!!

20111107-164857.jpg

I love chutney on pretty much anything! It is so nice smothered on a crusty bread roll with some strong cheddar cheese, or used as a dip for popadoms or crisps, or with left over Xmas dinner….. Mmmmmm

So the other day I set about putting together a recipe that would work with the quantity of tomatoes I was left with.

This is what I came up with!

20111107-163317.jpg

Ive not yet tasted it since I jarred it up but it was tasting pretty good in the pan! Roll on Xmas so I can get these opened!

I’ve added quite a bit of chilli to give my chutney a kick but you can remove this if you don’t like the spice.
Also any dried fruit can be used instead or as well as the sultanas.

Ingredients

900g toms red/green
3 onions
3 apples (I used Cox and Braeburn)
70g sultanas (any dried fruit will do)
250g light muscovado sugar
400ml white wine vinegar (any vinegar will do)
1″ ginger, grated
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon paprika
2 teaspoons mustard seeds
3 small red chilli de-seeded (optional)
1 small red chilli with seeds (optional)

Method

Roughly chop all of the green tomatoes, onions and apples and chillies

20111107-163139.jpg

20111107-163231.jpg

Add all of the remaining ingredients plus the chopped fruit and veg (except the red tomatoes) to the pan and turn the heat on medium.

20111107-163444.jpg

Cook for about 20 mins, stirring well, whilst roughly chopping your red tomatoes.

Add the red tomatoes to the pan and bring to a simmer.

Continue to simmer for approx three and a half hours until completely reduced.

And that’s it!
Simple!

Now for the jarring process.

This always scares me a little as I never want to ruin what I have made!

The steps I follow are:

1: use metal topped, screw lid jars (jam jars are perfect)
2: wash them in hot soapy water
3: rinse in clean hot water
4: place in the oven at gas mark 1 for up to an hour to dry.
5: remove them from the oven immediately before pouring the boiling hot chutney in to them.
6: take care when pouring/spooning and fill to almost the top.
7: wipe away any leakage.
8: cover the top of the chutney with a wax paper circle just slightly bigger than the top of the jar.
9: place plastic over the top, immediately wrap an elastic band around the plastic and screw on the lid.
10: leave to cool.

Store in a cool dry place until opened then store in the fridge.

I hear that the longer you leave your chutney the better it will taste so this is where the patience comes in!

Add some labels and your chutney is ready to enjoy or to give away as Xmas gifts!

20111107-164723.jpg

One Response to “red and green tomato chutney – with a hint of chilli”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. it’s chutney time – again « loumms - 8 November 2012

    […] made a slight alteration to my recipe from last year, I added more chilli!! We are on a crazy chilli kick at the moment and it had to be […]

Leave a Reply

