to seal or not to seal??

19 Feb

Last week I was beginning to get a bit frustrated with the state of my house.

It has been a good few years since it was decorated and it is beginning to show.

As it is rented I don’t want to spend to much on it and I also don’t want the landlord re-decorating and putting the rent up so I decided to do a bit of DIY myself!

Over the next few months, one room at a time with a budget of £50-£100 a room (depending on how bad it is!) I will transform my flat!

I started last weekend with the bathroom and it was a great success!
I knew it would probably be the most pricy to do but I managed not to go over budget.

I cleaned it down, re-painted the whole room using three tones of a browny/pinky/grey

and laid a new lino floor.

This was not as easy as I first guessed!

I laid out the lino in the kitchen then measured all of the bathroom including toilet, bath and sink and planned it out on the lino using masking tape.

Then I cut out the shape with a Stanley knife and carried it through.

Haha! It didn’t fit!! How?? I do not know!

Thankfully it was too big rather than too small so I went round everything again with the knife and eventually got it to the right size.

After a bit of dancing around it was laid out and smooth!!

It is amazing how much it has been transformed because of the floor! however I wish I’d read a bit about sealing the lino as that is probably the shabbier part of the room. Which is why I’m sharing what I have learnt!!

I used two types of sealant to do the floor, both able to be used without a gun, a translucent one for around the wall and and the bottom of the bath panel and a brilliant white one for around the toilet and sink.

Tips to seal a bathroom floor:

1-make sure the floor is clean and dry
2-move any large items out of the room to allow plenty of moving space (something I didn’t do which caused me to get into a huge tangle with my under sink storage)
3-place masking tape around both edges being sealed to give a neater edge (I didn’t do this which resulted in a slightly rougher edge!)
4-when squeezing out the silicone sealant, work quickly and confidently but don’t rush
5-don’t use too much sealant
6-allow to slightly dry for 1 minute before smoothing it out using a cloth dipped in hot water or a rounded edged spatula again dipped in hot water.
7-remove any extra unwanted silicone with white spirit before it dries.

If you follow these steps you should achieve a relatively professional finish!!

I will remind myself to take my own advice next time I do this!!

So after the floor was finished, I scrubbed the tiles until they were white again and cleaned up the fixtures.

Lovely.

Bring on the living room!!!

Leave a Reply

