fo: larch cardigan

11 Apr

photo2

After a mere nine weeks, my Larch cardigan is ready to wear! This project actually started way back in the depths of last year when I contacted Lyndsey from Countess Ablaze to ask her if she could custom dye me some of her DK-weight blue-faced Leicester, Bluefaced Baron DK. We back-and-forthed over the colour for a few weeks until she hit upon the single most amazing emerald you have ever seen.

This is the emerald that makes you think of rolling hills and mythical creatures and burial sites full of untold riches. It is lush.

photo1

I knew almost immediately that it had to be a Larch cardigan. Larch, for the uninitiated, is an Amy Christoffers design. Amy occupies a place of deep affection in my heart. She is an incredible designer. (I’ve heard several people say that it’s like Amy designs just for them, but they’re wrong. She designs just for me.) Her cardigans are exactly my aesthetic.

photo3

I did a few small mods that others might find helpful.

  1. I tend to find long, loose cardigans gape around the small of my back (because my bum sticks out and I have little natural waist), so I spread the decrease stitches evenly rather than at the sides where they would traditionally fall (every 50 sts for the first set and then immediately above [i.e. so they’re stacked] following Amy’s row count). This seems to have worked very well.
  2. As usual, I knit my sleeves until I thought they were long enough and then added an extra inch and then added ten rows. This seems to be the only way I ever manage to get sleeves that fit. NOTE: I did NOT do this for my Acer or my Tinder and my sleeves for both projects are definitely a bit too short. I think it works rather well with the vintage feel of the Acer, but I have a good mind to hack into the Tinder and add some rows.
  3. I extended the sleeve caps and arm holes by about 6 rows. Amy’s main criticism is that her sleeves tend towards the tight side, which I noticed in my Acer. These sleeves fit perfectly. They are deep enough to be able to comfortably wear a couple of layers underneath (which is totally necessary at the moment! When will it be spring?!).
  4. Amy suggests using a double-knit BO around the shawl part of the collar, which is super stretchy but looked very unfinished and amateurish when I attempted it. I stuck to my regular BO (k2, sl 1st st over 2nd, * k1, sl 1st st on right needle over 2nd, repeat from *), but looser than normal.

I am very pleased with the result.

photo

On the needles now: not another Amy (I just couldn’t decide!), but my long-awaited Perfect Christmas Jumper! About time, no? Lou finished her’s years ago.

4 Responses to “fo: larch cardigan”

  1. loutheperson 11 April 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    Oh that yarn is amaze!!!!
    Love the emeraldy colour and totally agree with your thoughts on Amy Christoffers!
    I’ve got the Pomme De Pin cardie next up in my Rav queue after I’ve finished Paulie!

  2. emmms 11 April 2013 at 7:12 pm #

    KNITALONG!!!!! I have that queued too, I’m just searching for the right yarn! Let’s do this!

  3. Giulia (Drop Stitches Not Bombs) 14 April 2013 at 2:00 am #

    Nice work! And I’m with you on Amy Christoffers too – White Pine has been hovering near the top of my queue for a while now.

  4. emmms 15 April 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    Yes! I love that pattern. Pinoli and Stonecutters are also just waiting for the right yarn to come along.

Leave a Reply

