hungry bees — lyos may 2009

7 May

It has been a long night, so my apologies for my May addition to the Loumms Year of Socks being late. (Lou’s will be up tomorrow — also my fault.) One day I’ll learn there are only 24 hours in a day. 24. Not 387. However, here it is and I’m so pleased with how it turned out!

dscn0314

Pattern: Hungry Bees, by erqsome knits

Yarn: Luxury Merino Sock by Natural Dye Studio, unfortunately discontinued (180 yds/50 g)

Needles: 2.5 mm DPNs and 3 mm DPNs

As you’ll see, Lou and I have gone for a bit of a theme this month; though it was somewhat accidental. Bugs and bees and garden creepy crawlies were the source for our inspiration, not surprising when you consider how much time we’ve been posting about gardening lately!

dscn0298

In honour of the great British spring, in which there are always April Showers, followed diligently by May Flowers, we toast the multi-legged and the be-winged. Thanks to some buzzing bees, my garden is looking fantastic. I plan to wear these socks out while I’m watering to see if they attract any more bees (though obviously only up to a point; I’m not sure I could handle a swarm of lusty honeybees out for a good time).

dscn0258

All the bees hid from the camera, but I just about managed to catch a bit of bee bum behind a clump of flowers!

‘Hungry Bees’ is the ninth pattern to be realised in the Loumms Year of Socks. You can download the pattern for ‘Hungry Bees’ here, and on Ravelry.

I haven’t included any in the pattern itself as I’m trying out new layouts and couldn’t make them fit, but here are some less obvious abbreviations:

k-wise = as if to knit
kbltog = knit through the back loop together with the next stitch
p-wise = as if to purl
sl = slip, holding yarn to back of work (unless stated otherwise)
wyb = with yarn held back
wyf = with yarn held forward

Please note that while we’ve done our best to make sure there are no errors, we can’t guarentee there aren’t any. If you find something that looks amiss, get in touch! We’ll be posting updates if we find any, but we are always grateful for feedback of any sort.

6 Responses to “hungry bees — lyos may 2009”

  1. walterknitty 7 May 2009 at 5:14 am #

    Those are super cute. Very nice. Well done.

  2. risiko 7 May 2009 at 5:16 am #

    …..and as i sit here scratching my first mosquito bite of the season…..squeeee!!! it’s gorgeous ! bugs it is ! well worth the short wait. as long as the little velociraptor got me on the foot, instead of the hand, i can still knit, that’s all that matters. sitting in my knitting chair twisted up like a pretzel so i can continue to scratch my foot without having to put down the needles. and i’ve finally found the pattern that wants to made from the hideous skein of buttercup yellow i got as a gift so that she will be transformed into a beautiful swan bug sock.

  3. loutheperson 7 May 2009 at 8:06 am #

    The honey comb look fab!

  4. Vanessa 8 May 2009 at 9:15 am #

    These look fantastic! Thanks Emma – I definitely appreciate the extra long hours you stayed up for it!

    Cheers xox

  5. victoria 30 September 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Thank you for sharing this lovely pattern. I am a beekeeper, and am constantly searching for bee themes. I am going to scooter over to my lys and get some beautiful yarn. I have to cast on for these today! I will send you a photo when finished.

    Regards,
    Victoria
    Nashville, Tn

  6. Angelika Sabins 20 August 2010 at 3:29 am #

    Thanks for sharing

Leave a comment